SOMERSET LEVELS 146 – GUNNERA … AS FAR AS I KNOW, ANYWAY … (MONO + COLOUR)

 

mmm
.


.
Gunnera, a large and prickly plant – looking rather like rhubarb I suppose – beside the moat around the Bishop’s Palace, in Wells; 18 Apr 2014.

I’m going out on a limb here (no pun intended!) as my knowledge of plants is very far from substantial and, having called this Gunnera,  there is the very real chance that one of You Botanicals Out There will know better.  So, putting out the post … and going into a foetal crouch … now …

Wells is a beautiful little place with a long, long history.  Named after the vast amounts of fresh water that pour out from underground there, it has probably been inhabited in some form or other since prehistoric times, and they may be evidence of its use as a religious site since Roman times.  I have no great love for ecclesiastical architecture, but the West Front of the cathedral, viewed from the large green out in front of it, has to be one of the West Country’s most striking sights, certainly, for me, right up there with Stonehenge and Avebury.  It is a simply stupendous cliff of masonry, and you can see it in one of my earlier posts, here.

So, strolling around the moat that surrounds the Bishop’s Palace, a favourite walk of our’s, keeping an eye out for the kingfisher (and rats!) that we sometimes see here, and passing this great plant, snug and secure behind a fence, in its waterside location.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Low Key 1 preset and restoring some colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

5 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 146 – GUNNERA … AS FAR AS I KNOW, ANYWAY … (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Malin H says:

    Fresh! That’s the first word that comes to me when I look at this image.

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    Yes, a gunnera it is! A fantastical plant. I love the dark background here which emphasises those sharp prickles wonderfully!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I had a feeling that a certain person might. And a certain person has. And no money has changed hands either, how boring can we get? >>> but I’m mightily relieved to be right – THANXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 No flattery intended, but I’m rather in awe of those who know oodles about plants. I do have several plant guides and I have identified a few species – but a few it remains!

      I took this picture with mono manipulation in mind. The black areas are in fact bluish water – water reflecting blue sky – and the Gunnera not having any blue in it, I knew that I’d be able to dark the blue areas dramatically.

      Thanks for your enthusiasm and appreciation, M, – and for your confirmation too!!! 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

