ARCHIVE 289 – LUO FAMILY

 

 


.
Luo family on a farm near Akala, in the far west of Kenya; April 1979.

The backdrop is the painted wall of a wattle and daub hut, the smooth surface layer of which is starting to flake off on the far right.  Minor points, maybe that I’ve only really appreciated now, after all these years, are the Vicks poster and the kitten.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

OM-1 with 50mm Zuiko; Agfa CT18 colour slide, rated at 64 ISO.

UPDATE: The people in Kenya were in the main very friendly and hospitable.  I very much enjoyed my years in that country.  Again – once again – I wish that I had photographed more of the people that I met there.

.
.
.

7 comments

  1. It’s a very nice photo, all the different expressions in each person’s eyes, the sense of family, the colors, and as you note, those background details. In my job I met many people from Kenya, also Somalia and Ethiopia, both countries that are well represented in Seattle for some reason. (I know the reasons on the African side but am always amazed this city was chosen – it’s so far away and so gray and cold compared to any African country). There was almost always an ease and warmth that I didn’t see so much in people doing the same work who weren’t from African countries. Also, a knack for getting the job done without a lot of extra drama or needless effort. I hate to make generalizations, but there you go.

    Like

    • Ah generalisations, what should we do about generalisations? Because, in our overly politically correct world – as I recently heard it described – generalisations are creeping dangerously near to stereotypes, which are certainly unhelpful if not immoral. But the problem as I see it concerns how we should react if the generalisations are correct. Should we still avoid and reject them out of hand, because they are verging on the taboo? I wonder.

      And I love your words about your homeland – “so gray and cold compared to any African country” – well you’ve got that right (although the spelling of grey needs working on … 😉 …)!!! Whenever I returned to Kenya from the UK, I was visually struck by the brightness of the (equatorial) light and by the vastly vibrant colours all around – it was almost like coming alive again.

      And I know just what you mean about the people’s ease and warmth too. And, in addition, I also very much enjoyed the vast sense of humour. If Easter has a meaning for you, my friend, I hope you’re having a good one. For me, its just another Friday, and I enjoy Fridays! A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.