THE ANSWERS TO LIFE’S PROBLEMS

 

 

Selfie with a spiral staircase
.

Two aspects of what I laughingly call My Lifestyle have come together in glorious conjunction this stormy morn.

First, although no longer watching it quite so much these days, I’m a big fan of The Simpsons and in particular, of Homer – someone who in my more imaginative moments certainly ascends to the status of role model.

And then second, and not at all in keeping with the times, I still use – and depend enthusiastically upon – a paper diary >>> which leads to simple but rock solid logic along the lines of “If it goes into the diary it’ll get done, even if its something far ahead in the future” – a state of affairs which my wife has quickly come to see can have its very positive side (and the more so should she ever become adept at forging my scrawl  … ).

And so, sitting down to breakfast this morning – salmon fishcakes with chilli and ginger, accompanied by mango, cooked tomatoes, pickled garlic and hot lime pickle – I turned to today’s page in my diary and was instantly uplifted, instantly set up for the day.  Why?  How?  Well, because my dairy has a quote on every page, and today’s quote is from Homer himself: 

 

When will I learn?  The answers to life’s problems aren’t at the bottom of a bottle.  They’re on TV.

 

What can I say???  Well …. Role model!!! >>> ROLE MODEL!!!!!!

.

.

.

21 comments

    • Strange, isn’t it, how many now look down on paper diaries and think them old fashioned, whereas they are inexpensive, as big or small as we want them, so simple to use, so reliable – and totally independent of electricity, computers, phones etc etc. Mine is a firm and essential friend. 🙂

      Like

    • Haha! no doubt the Simpsons are not to everyone’s taste, Linda, but Homer gets to the very strong sense of the ridiculous that is within me, and I can’t get enough of him – but glad the selfie gets to you – me looking into a shop window, with reflections going everywhere and, on the right, a faintly seen spiral staircase. A 🙂

      Like

  1. There’s a lot to love here, even for someone who’s not a Simpsons fan. The photo for sure – well done. The story too, and finally, the breakfast – salmon fishcakes with chili and ginger? And the accompaniments – torture! Sounds delicious.

    Like

    • LOL! my fishcake breakfasts set me up for the day … after I’ve been helped to my armchair … of course … 😉 …. Ever since living in Kenya, I’ve had a taste for all sorts of unusual food combinations. Mad? Oh yes, and Homer certainly a role model! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, he’s wonderful – I think that a lot of thought goes into the Simpsons – a very simple eg are the varying initial scenarios to the programmes, when the family gets home and goes to sit in the living room – a lot of thought and creativity goes into them – which is more than can be said for a lot of today’s TV!!! And thinking about another of the show’s characters, how’s that for crusty???????????????? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.