ARCHIVE 309 – THE SUN RISING OVER GLASTONBURY TOR

 

 


.

Sunrise over Glastonbury Tor, seen from Tealham Moor, on the Somerset Levels; 22 Nov 2013.

I’ve lightened the centre section to bring interest to the mid-ground with the two cows – but I’m sure they should have shadows … oh dear, digital … not always quite up to it are you?  Or maybe I’m not quite up to it – its probably me.

And of course I’m pointing my magnificent if distinctly weighty telezoom straight into the sun’s glare, and so to a second, orange sun low down in the frame, and also some rather fiery glows between that sun and the real one.  I could have gone at it with software to try and make good these optical artefacts but, first, I can’t be bothered, and second, I think they add to the atmosphere and feeling of the shot – I mean, I’m pointing a x6 telephoto directly into Our Star’s incandescent face, so what do I expect, perfect and pristine optical rendition?

I like the 80-400.  Large and unwieldy it may be and its not one of Nikon’s very quick AF-S lenses, but it is image stabilised and I can hand hold it, and it gives such reach and flexibility.

An earlier image in this series is here .

Click onto the image to open another version in a separate window, and click onto that image to enlarge it further.

Technique: D800 with 80-400 Nikkor lens at 300mm; 800 ISO.

UPDATE: that wonderful but rather bulky 80-400 Nikkor lens has now disappeared >>> in a part exchange deal to buy a Fujifilm mirrorless camera!  I wonder if it was a wise swap?  Probably, I think, probably, and certainly so in terms of size and portability.  And the (already, in our digital world, aged) D800 has a trick up its sleeve – using it in Nikon’s APS-C format, which Nikon calls DX format, it multiplies the focal length of lenses by x1.5, so that my lighter and less bulky 70-300 Nikkor (my favourite Nikon lens of all) becomes 105-450 – and 400mm is still covered!
.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to ARCHIVE 309 – THE SUN RISING OVER GLASTONBURY TOR

  1. Beautiful shot, it has a wonderful warm painterly quality to it. I’m back in the UK at the moment enjoying the summer (not) lol!

    Like

  2. I. Love. This! I wish I could see the cows just a tiny bit more. Is it my old eyes? Whatever. Love it. xxx ATP xxx

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you do, ATP – thank you! Yes, you’re right about the visibility of the cows, but I felt that if I made that area any paler, it would start to look odd and unreal – ie too pale, when the blazing sun is throwing it into shadow. I’m very glad this gets to you. ATP xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    Oh Yea, favourite place to be…Tealham moor with the views to the Tor. So romantic. lovely shot…upon adjusting my laptop screen I could see the cattle.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, Tealham is my most favourite place I think – and where my ashes will one day be scattered. I like Tealham for two reasons – its huge, open skies remind me of Kenya, and its just raw, unkempt, tatty, working farmland – no prettification or gentrification (outside of the few villages, anyway)!

      Like

  4. Lovely photography. As a British person living overseas, it’s always nice to see beautiful images of my home country.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hayley, thank you very much – I’ve heard similar things from other expats – indeed I used to be an expat myself, in Kenya, but my travelling was never on the wonderful scale that your’s has been – and I think now I’m content just to be in southwest England – my homeland I suppose! Thank you again. Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful moment; excellent photo!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

