STILL LIFE 138 – GLASS OF BEER 2

 

 


.

Amber nectar?  No, not really, its only Stella Artois – but its in our faces and bubbling, and I like the effect.

The first glass of beer image is here Thinking about it, it may even be the same glass of beer (depending on how fast I was drinking at the time), but I think I prefer this closer in, simpler version, with its more clearly seen bubbles.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click onto that version to enlarge it yet again.

Technique: Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (equiv); 800 ISO; Lightroom, using the Camera Standard film simulation, Bristol; 10 Feb 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

16 Responses to STILL LIFE 138 – GLASS OF BEER 2

  1. I’ve never seen Stella look this classy 🙂 Good job!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Jascha, thank you very much indeed! I mostly like drinking beer – Duvel from Belgium is really my thing – but sometimes I also photograph beer too – weird or what???!!! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    Almost abstract but very real in the tasting, I’m sure. I would say that my favourite Belgian Beer is Leffe. I once found a pub in Snowdonia that had it on tap.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      If you ever come across them, Andy, try the Westmalle beers. Our Tesco has the weaker (7%!) one, and I’ve seen it in Waitrose too. The 9.5% is harder to find – but of course all can be obtained from Beers of Europe, in Kings Lynne. Also, and even more widely available (except in Tesco at the moment!), Duvel is out of this world >>> but all of these strong beers are for sipping, not knocking back in one!!! 🙂

      Like

      • LensScaper says:

        Wow. The alcohol content is ‘significant’ in some of those tinctures. I will try Duvel next time I’m in the booze aisle.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          There are two ways of drinking Duvel. With a beer of this quality I would normally suggest drinking it at room temperature, or at most larder cool. But Belgians often drink it fridge cold and that can work well too, especially on a hot day. Two warnings! First, if you knock it straight back you will become rapidly disabled! 🙂 Second, use something like a big balloon glass if possible + gentle pouring, or it will explode up and out of your glass and all over the place, it can have an enormous white head if poured too quickly, especially at room temperature. ENJOY!!! 🙂

          Like

          • LensScaper says:

            Sensible advice. Thanks Adrian.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              Trust me, I’m a doctor …. 😉 … The other thing to mention is that these high alcohol beers are best treated more like sherries or wines, they’re best sipped and savoured, the tastes and after tastes really are something else – I have a bottle of 11.3% Trappistes Rochefort 10, which I intend glugging this afternoon, and that really is getting to be like a sherry. Many Belgian beers have high alcohol (and some are truly dreadful!) – because spirits were formerly banned in Belgium, and so stronger beers were brewed to take their place. A

              Like

  3. bluebrightly says:

    Other things lurking here, but not polluting… lovely.

    Like

  4. This one is more ‘beer’.. Cheers!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      More beer can’t be a bad thing!!! Oh yes, crisis >>> my local supermarket has (temporarily, I can only pray!) run out of Duvel, so they received a stern protest this morning!!! Luckily three other supermarkets have lots of it >>> I’m visiting them all, I do like a challenge!!! 😉

      Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Agreed, I prefer this version !

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

