STILL LIFE 135 – RESTAURANT WITH FLAG

 

 


.

Looking into a restaurant, through the reflection of a flag.

There are other glimpses into Bristol restaurants here, here, here and here.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click onto that larger version to enlarge it yet again.

Technique: X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 400 ISO; Lightroom, using the Provia/Standard film simulation; Capture NX2; Bristol’s Harbourside; 19 July 2016.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

13 Responses to STILL LIFE 135 – RESTAURANT WITH FLAG

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Very well done, I love window reflections, and the colors in this one are really nice, and the reflection and interior are well balanced. Sometimes you just get one or the other.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Lynn, I’m glad you like it. Re balancing the inside and outside, that’s partly LR – but although I always advocate raising the ISO just as high as is needed, there’s no getting away from the fact that lower ISOs like this one give greater dynamic range. A 🙂

      Like

      • bluebrightly says:

        Which is what you needed here, I guess, between the highlights on the flag and the dark interior. Both are nice and rich. I confess that so far I just have used auto ISO. I will take the EV down a notch in bright conditions, or up if it’s dark (and play with aperture of course), but I’ve left ISO decisions to the camera’s brain. I suppose I should play with that instead of EV at some point. So many possibilities!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I hear that Auto ISO is very handy but, when I got the new camera, I read about it and noted a scenario where it didn’t give what was asked for and – good old conservative me! – I nearly always use Aperture Priority, and manually adjust the ISO – which is decidedly easier on the X-T2, as it doesn’t have to be unlocked for each adjustment.

          Like

  2. very imaginative! a reflection! Well done Adrian!

    Like

  3. Pingback: STILL LIFE 135 – RESTAURANT WITH FLAG – Joaquin's fotografie

  4. joaquin48 says:

    I like this one, the reflection and how the flag is seemingly integrated into the window itself.. Lovely shot!

    Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Stylish, my friend, looks like a double exposure, but more likely is a reflection?

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

