TALKING IMAGES 33 – HAPPINESS

 

 


.
Here’s something I’d like to share with you before I have to rush out to lunch. I saw it on the TV news this morning.

A study was made of a group of people, who were each given a sum of money – not a vast amount of money, say £30 UK – and who were told to spend it in a way that would make them happy.

And when the people were questioned about their happiness levels afterwards, those that professed to be happiest were those who had used the money to buy themselves more free time, eg by hiring people to do jobs/chores for them, and NOT those who had spent the money on acquiring (yet more!) material possessions.

I find this fascinating and also very instructive.  I expect we knew this already, after all didn’t the Beatles sing “money can’t buy me love!”?  And of course those of us who live in “developed” countries often have what are termed “busy modern lifestyles” – which means that although we may be comfortable/well off in terms of money, we suffer from time poverty.  There are usually too many things to do in the day, there is usually not enough time to do them in, and we get stressed trying to balance everything out.

I’m a great searcher for the simple life, and being retired helps this quest no end.  There are those who, when they retire, just keep going because they can’t bear to slow down.  Well, that’s fine, each to their own, we are all most certainly different.  But I value the extra leisure time, I like slowing down and – to be quite honest with you – I don’t pay others to perform chores for me, I can’t afford to, but I have simply become extremely selective about which chores I think actually necessary,  as opposed to those which can wait until tomorrow, the day that never comes.

.

.

.

 

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to TALKING IMAGES 33 – HAPPINESS

  1. I agree! I just don’t have enough money to hire anyone lol!! Be happy in your work my Dad always said lol!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Your Dad was absolutely right but, in my experience, the numbers of us who are truly happy in our work are not vast – I have felt substantial job satisfaction at various times in my life, but whether that translated into true happiness I’m not sure. Glad you share the viewpoint – stick with it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bluebrightly says:

    A great lesson, that one, and one of many that just seem to take years to gel. Yes, more selective! 🙂

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    As a fellow retiree I completely agree with you. The greatest bonus of retirement is Time, and the next is the freedom to go at one’s own pace. One of the parts of the day I now enjoy most is two cups of coffee around 10:30 in the morning and the Times Crossword (the easy one, by the way)!

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    I wholeheartedly agree with your beliefs….!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

