ARCHIVE 303 – MAN IN A HOTEL ROOM (MONO)

 

 


.

Selfie in a hotel room, during my recent few days in the Midlands; 28 Apr 2014.

Someone with a camera, a mirror, and time on his hands.  As I relaxed in my hotel room, there was this large mirror out in front of me, and light pouring in from a narrow window to my right.  I asked myself, “Who’s that old man?”.  And I liked the lighting, the table lamp and the absence of anything else.  And so, the camera, the lamp and me.

The original image does not contain a lot of detail anyway, but I’ve reduced that further by taking it into mono, and using the SEP2 preset named below, which has a strong pale vignette.  The faint, dark structure forming a right angle is part of the mirror’s large frame.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

Technique: D700 with 24-120 Nikkor lens at 120mm; 6400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Antique Plate II preset, and adding a tone.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to ARCHIVE 303 – MAN IN A HOTEL ROOM (MONO)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Great choices in processing! Really suits the image.

    Like

  2. Hey bud! Looking very reflective (ugh!) I need to try that. I hope it makes me look just as good!
    ❤️ATP❤️

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Ha, ha…yea, good way to spend your time! Truly artistic and striking shot, I must add.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! And that shot was taken over 3 years ago – time flies! Is all still on course for you to move up this way next month? There must be some sadness in leaving Devon – I wondered if your badger photo was partly as a memory. Hope all goes well. A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

