TALKING IMAGES 32 – FATMAN PHOTOS, SLOWING DOWN FOR AWHILE

 

 

.

I’ve recently posted a series of pictures of my granddaughters – and here are two more – and thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to get deeply into some portraiture again and, especially so, black and white portraiture.  This short series of portraits can be found here: 1; 2; 3; 4; 5; 6;  7; 8.

.

.

But I’m now engaged on an intriguing longer term project with these two young girls and, sad to say, it has a deadline.  Which means that, for the next month or two, I have to let other things slip a little.  And so, after six years, FATman Photos is going to slow down a bit, with fewer posts and, equally regrettably, fewer visits to other blogs.

Click onto these images to open larger versions in separate windows, and click again onto these larger versions to further enlarge them.

Technique: both photos here – the younger sister above, the elder below, were taken at high ISOs with my (now ageing) D700 and the wonderful 105mm Nikkor prime.  I processed them minimally in Lightroom, and then converted them to black and white in Silver Efex Pro 2 – the upper shot started at the Center Focus preset, and the lower at the Warm Tone Paper preset; both images were given a light Coffee tone.

.

.

.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to TALKING IMAGES 32 – FATMAN PHOTOS, SLOWING DOWN FOR AWHILE

  1. pure angelic sweetness!!

    Like

  2. Beautiful portraits and best of luck with your project 🙂

    Like

  3. bluebrightly says:

    Enjoy the project!

    Like

  4. LensScaper says:

    I’ve enjoyed the portraits – so natural. All the best with the project, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, thank you very much – natural is want I’m aiming at. Thanks for your good wishes with the project. I started it awhile back, but have already made substantial further progress today. And have just been watching a TV program about Japanese art and Shinto >>> and so feel enthused to put out a post! A 🙂

      Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Lovely shots, as we come to expect..no pressure..! You not posting….oh, bad do. Well as long as you do not go forever…..

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you – no pressure! I will be posting but, for awhile, not as frequently as I usually do – NO I am not going forever!!!

      AND NOW, ANOTHER TRY – did you get my text with my new phone number?????

      Like

  6. Hey Adrian, hope everything is ok? Beautiful portraits of your granddaughters again 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Sarah! Yes, everything is ok, thanks, its just that I have a big writing + photography project – with a deadline – in hand, and I need to get it finished. I simply don’t think I’ll have the time to post as frequently on my blog as I have done, although there will be some posts. Thanks for your concern. Adrian 🙂

      Like

  7. Have a good time, Adrian!

    Like

  8. Enjoy the project with your granddaughters every minute of it will be precious.

    Like

  9. Will miss your photos keep in touch, bud. –
    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Don’t worry, I’m certainly not disappearing completely – they can’t find a hall of mirrors or cloaking device large enough … – but I need to be posting less frequently for awhile as I have another large photography + writing task in hand. Certainly will keep in touch. ATP xxxXXX!!!!!

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

