PEOPLE 280 – CITY LIFE

 

 


.
City life – faces, images, media, messages, noise; hurrying, multitasking, crowding in close, claustrophobically close; all around.

There are two little bits of the Natural World in this photo.  She is at lower right and hurrying to get through it all, and the sky is at upper right, calm, serene, and tainted only by our fumes and emissions.  And the rest is, well, the rest.

Photographically, I enjoy the city, I love being there with a camera, this human environment has so much of interest to the lens.  But in other terms, to me, the ability to access peace and quiet is one of the most valuable things on this planet.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click onto the enlarged image to enlarge it yet again – recommended.

Technique: X-T2 with 10-24 Fujinon lens at 30mm (equiv); 400 ISO; Lightroom; Temple Gate, central Bristol; 28 Apr 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

16 Responses to PEOPLE 280 – CITY LIFE

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Excellent – one of your best, I think. I have a similar love for the city and need for the country. I love the way the girl is sandwiched between advertisements, it says so much. This would be great as a really large print.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m very glad that you like it so much, Lynn; would you like me to send you a full quality jpeg? And I very much like and identify with “love for the city and need for the country”, very well put. A 🙂

      Like

      • bluebrightly says:

        I’ll have to pass on the jpeg for now, since I don’t typically get prints made of anything… I am trying to cut back on things these days. But thank you kindly for the offer, and I hope you have many more years of traipsing around in city AND countryside!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Peace and quiet. Yes.
    Interesting photo, my friend.
    ☮️ ATP

    Like

  3. Great colours and composition of directions..

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Yea, lovely. I empathise with your feelings as nature is slowly eroded in front of our very eyes, and piece and quiet are hard to find. Only ever found that in the Arabian Desert in my other life…silence such, you could hear an ant approach.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, my friend. I’ve been in those deserts too, long ago too, and know just what you mean – and cold at night, and with the Milky Way blazing out across the sky.

      Like

  5. Dina says:

    Beacuse of all this, I prefere to stay out of the city, but it’s great for photography! 🙂
    Have a great Sunday!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

