STILL LIFE 125 – CIDER CAN

 

 


.

Unfortunately empty can on a rotated pavement.

When I grew up in Somerset and took my first, wondering steps towards the Electric Soup, pints of cider were the obvious – the almost religiously ordained – choice.  Strong drinks, sometimes rather rough, and producing dreadful hangovers – but still wonderful!  I drink more beer now, especially Belgian beer, and following a really dreadful experience with a blended vintage cider, last year I think it was, most ciders are no longer attractive – although two litre flagons of Westons strong, still and cloudy Old Rosie do still shake my tree.

Drinking cider became very fashionable a few years back, and this empty can contained one of the relatively bland, modern, mass market ciders, Thatchers Gold – but still, not at all bad, especially on a hot day.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click onto that image to enlarge it yet again.

Technique: X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); Lightroom, using the Astia/Soft film simulation; rotated 90 degrees anticlockwise; Old Market Roundabout, central Bristol; 26 May 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to STILL LIFE 125 – CIDER CAN

  1. krikitarts says:

    Can anything come close to the joy of a cold beer after a good hike in the sun? I see that you agree that there are times when…(now simply insert your title here).

    Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    The US doesn’t do cider the way the UK does – you all sure do have a few ways to drink! 😉
    I think I wouldn’t mind this one right-side-up – the colors are so attractive.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha! >>> you said you’d like to see another of my rotations “au naturelle” – and (below here) my good friend Paula is hinting at something similar – but I very often look at images all ways up, and especially so if they’re anything like abstract – that’s me! 😉 US drinks, yes, I’ve been hearing interesting things about the tastes of their beers; I know a very few of them, but will have to try more. 🙂

      Like

  3. paula graham says:

    The rotation , this time, works very well and succeeded in making this an intriguing and stylish photo with an interesting colour palette too.

    Like

  4. I actually like this, quite a bit. The pavement is beautiful. We don’t have pavement as attractive here. And it’s paved in gold. Not the most ecologically minded practice, but for the photo, fabulous! Really good stuff, bud.
    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gemma, thank you, I’m happy to hear that! It has to be said that most of our pavements are not this ornate either, just a few ->>> but since we’ve got it, we’ll flaunt it!!! 😉 I hope this Friday is going well for you. ATP xxxXXXXXX

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

