ARCHIVE 299 – CROW SCARING STARLINGS (MONO)

 

 

.

Starlings are flustered and scattered as a Carrion Crow flies in amongst them; Tadham Moor, on the Somerset Levels; 1 Nov 2013.

There is another image from these moments here.

Technique: D800 with 80-400 Nikkor lens at 400mm; 1600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro’s High Structure Harsh preset.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to ARCHIVE 299 – CROW SCARING STARLINGS (MONO)

  1. Val says:

    Most smaller birds are – often rightly, but sometimes not – anxious that a crow will eat their fledglings. That actually happened to a baby blackbird on our lawn a few weeks back. Two crows attacked and killed it. And yet we had a friendly crow a couple of years back that didn’t harm any other birds. Great shot!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello Val, thanks for all your comments, and thanks too for following my blog – I hope you’ll enjoy the images. I see that you like to colour old black and white pictures – if you would ever like to colour any of my black and whites, do please help yourself. Yes, birds never know what crows will do, so they’re always cautious – and crows do it to other crows too, as with the Carrion Crows bothering the chimney nests of Jackdaws around here – I’m an ex-birder by the way. But, overall, I like crows, as I do gulls – big, successful and often characterful birds – I’d love to have a Rook or a Jay on my shoulder, yelling in my ear! Glad you like the picture. Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Val says:

        Ex-birder as in ‘used to be a twitcher’? Or something else? Thanks for the offer of me colouring your b&w photos. At the moment I’ve plenty to colour but maybe in the future. 🙂

        Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Yea, very good

    Like

  3. bluebrightly says:

    Troublemakers! But so entertaining.

    Like

  4. Love this! None of the birds in flight are dissected by a wire. Great capture!

    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

