ARCHIVE 297 – AUTUMN CARPET (TWO VERSIONS)

 

 


.

Our Hazel, dark and massive and still with a few pale leaves, stands proud of its autumn carpet; 18 Nov 2013.

The extreme wideangle lens is pointing downwards, and the leaves in the foreground appear to be close under the camera.  Everything left of centre leans out towards the left, and everything to the right (including our fence, top right) vice versa.

I think I prefer the colour version here, its how it was or, rather, its what I saw through the viewfinder – and I love this garden and its autumn colours.

The mono version is quite different.  Its much darker, its really built around darkness, darkness that is cut / illuminated by those white leaves, both sprinkled across the ground and still hanging from the tree.  Both versions would benefit from larger reproduction I think, the mono version more so.

Which version do you prefer?

Click onto the images to open larger versions in separate windows.

Technique: D800 with Sigma 12-24 lens at 12mm; 800 ISO; the mono version created with Silver Efex Pro 2’s Floral Style preset.

UPDATE: my apologies for not visiting others’ blogs as often as usual, but time is tight at the moment.

.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to ARCHIVE 297 – AUTUMN CARPET (TWO VERSIONS)

  1. Val says:

    I prefer the colour version, it is almost kaleidoscopic and I enjoy the different shades of the leaves. The monochrome one I think needs a bit more contrast beween its tonalities. Did you do the monochrome one on a b&w setting or is it (digitally or otherwise) post-processed?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Val, thanks for your thoughts! I’m with you about the colour version, and most seem to like this version more. The mono one is very black ad white and that’s the effect I wanted; it would be possible to tease out more tones and so bring it (slightly) nearer to reality, but with black and white I often head for unreality! All of my mono photos are captured in Raw format, then the vast majority are processed adequately in Nikon’s Capture NX2 (formerly) and now in Adobe Lightroom; and then converted to mono using Nik’s Silver Efex Pro 2, a package which, quite simply, I love to use – (and see my post of a few days back re worries about Silver Efex). Capturing images in colour and then converting them to mono is the way to go I think, as it makes for many possibilities; I’ve never used my cameras’ mono settings. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bluebrightly says:

    They’re both strong – the monochrome is surprising, but then using high contrast gives it punch. Re your comment above about recording the reality of a beloved place – it’s a quandary, or should I say an opportunity. If you succeed in that (and I think you did) then you also have the opportunity to take the image somewhere else entirely, if you want to.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I entirely agree about the opportunity side of things – try to get the true representation of whatever it is, and then try something further from reality. Thank you for your thoughts, my friend. A 🙂

      Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    Definitely the colour version for me, Adrian

    Like

  4. I am so big on mono, but I have to agree with you. The color version is more to my liking here. Great stuff, bud.
    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

  5. paula graham says:

    For me, the colour version…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you – yes, I agree. I do like the b/w image but, like all b/w, it is removed from reality and thus doesn’t reflect what I was trying to do with the shot, which to picture the reality of a beloved place.

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

