STILL LIFE 115 – THE VIEW THROUGH A GLASS DOOR

 

 


.
Arriving early in the city and reeling from a second breakfast in Hart’s Bakery, I headed north up Temple Way amidst people going to work.  A jogger went past at the speed of light and scared me half to death.  An old pub I’d known and loved was empty, derelict, sad.  And then I was engulfed by hordes of kids, running for buses, noisy, off to school.

Amidst all this rush, I found myself outside the offices of one of our local newspapers, the Bristol Evening Post.  And in its façade was a glass door, which neatly filled the frame.  Here it is, rotated 90 degrees anticlockwise.  You’re probably going to ask what on earth this photo depicts – most of us want to know what we’re looking at, its a human trait –  but I have to disappoint you, because I can’t remember – it simply caught my eye at the time and I photographed it!  I have a feeling that the half of an ovoid at upper left was a table top, and there was security guard too but I don’t think he’s in the frame … but, in my mind, its really a question of whether such details add to the image overall.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click on this larger version once again to further enlarge it.

Technique: X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 6400 ISO; Lightroom, adding 90 degrees anticlockwise rotation, and adding the Astia/Soft film simulation; central Bristol; 26 May 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to STILL LIFE 115 – THE VIEW THROUGH A GLASS DOOR

  1. paula graham says:

    Yea, Love it…sets the imagination free.

    Like

  2. I like this one a lot; it’s ungrabbability..

    Like

  3. On the back of your advice Adrian i am going to give photography a little go. Any recommendations for a good entry level piece of equipment?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Equipment, yes, two things. First get a compact and relatively inexpensive digital camera with a built in flash and a zoom lens: this will help you see if photography indeed interests you, and the zoom lens will enable you to take various types of photos, from wide angles to telephoto shots.

      Second, get an inexpensive book on how to start photography, the first steps – a fairly general book that covers many aspects, which may open your mind to various ideas and be a source of reference. A

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s a so beautiful picture Adrian

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

