PEOPLE 272 – GRANDDAUGHTER 5 (MONO)

 

 


.
The elder sister, enjoying life …  How I love kids!  I have been told that, in Britain’s eminently educated, civilised and sophisticated society, it might be better if I did not utter such heartfelt emotions.  But the facts are simple.  Babies I can take or leave (I could most certainly never eat a whole one).  But once children start to talk in even the most disjointed fashion, once they start to give voice to what is in their minds and how they see the world, I am utterly enthralled – I want to be in there, I want to hear about it all!

And, of course, as photographers, I have heard and read so often that we should try to preserve our childlike sense of wonder at what we see around us – photography can be so much about making the mundane look extraordinary.  Adults are mainly sensible.  Its a kind of default mindset for us, isn’t it?  So we tend to see what’s around us sensibly and, in terms of photographic emotion, that can make things a little grey.  So, try not to be visually sensible.  Go mad a little – and, as a further aid, listen to what children say, listen to how they see things, get back – if only a little – into the way you used to think once upon a time, long ago.

Quite simply, I value my time with young people in many ways.  And, of course, one of the great benefits of being a Grandad is that, should the generation two stops down the conveyor belt get a little pushy, unruly or riotous, you can always hand them back to their keepers … I mean … parents …

Earlier images in this series, with context, are here: 1; 2; 3; 4.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click onto that larger version to enlarge it still further (though not, in this case, if you’re of anything like a nervous disposition …)

Technique: D700 with 105mm Nikkor lens; 1250 ISO; window light; Lightroom; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Antique Plate II preset, giving the image the look of Fuji Neopan Acros 100 black and white film, and adding a light tone; 18 Apr 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

7 Responses to PEOPLE 272 – GRANDDAUGHTER 5 (MONO)

  1. I feel quite the opposite. Baby til 5 or so then something changes and the cuteness starts to little by little wear off for me. I guess I like the innocence and that starts to disappear. I’m getting cynical. Sorry, bud.
    Still, a beautiful photo and effect.
    XXXATPXXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No, don’t be sorry, we are all different, we are all individuals, we all appreciate things in different ways. You’re right about the innocence starting to disappear – and then OMG there comes adolescence! – but for me, in the ages of say 3-10 or so, there is still so much wonder. I read somewhere the other day that we all think our parents are nuts until, at about 40, we become just like them – and then the circle goes around again! True? I don’t know, but maybe. Hope your Saturday is going well! ATP xxxxxxxXXXXXXXXXXXX

      Liked by 1 person

  2. paula graham says:

    Yes, you speak wise words, my friend. Children and their visions on life are so touching, now I am old I notice that too. I regret the times I did not relish and spend with my own child, my life been taken up by my own needs instead. Indeed, youth can be wasted on the young.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, my friend, I can very much identify with your words too – isn’t it frustrating that we only realise these things when we are older? But that, I suppose, is Life. After these two young girls are a bit older, I don’t suppose I’m going to have any other young people in my life – so I am making the most of them! And they, friendly characters that they are, have given me a cushion inscribed “BEST Grandad”, which I feel good about! How soon are you Clevedon-bound? A very good choice of location, I do think. A

      Like

      • paula graham says:

        Touching words..wish my granddaughter lived near instead of in Sao Paulo, great sadness in my life. I am hoping to touch down in Clevedon in early August and I am glad you like it there. We WILL meet up then, much easier!! I look forward to that.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Yes, Clevedon is a good choice. Its a reasonably small, quiet, seaside place which is near to motorways and more bustling places should you want them. There are thoughts about reinstating the railway line into Bristol too, tho I don’t know if this will come to fruition. This may sound strange, but the only negative that I can see re your move is that you’ll be farther from weird and wonderful Totnes 🙂 !!! I look forward to us meeting up more too, that will be good. A 🙂

          Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

