STILL LIFE 112 – HAWSER 1

 

 


.
Mooring line of the Thekla, a ship housing a live music and night club venue, which lives in Bristol’s East Mud Dock.

Composition: the rugged, solid, eminently workmanlike personality of a ship – tough, massive ropes attached to strong, thickly painted ironwork – even though this particular ship nestles eternally at the quayside in Bristol’s sheltered harbour.  Two things strike me here.  First, there is this great, thick rope cutting diagonally across the frame, with another view of it, just catching the light and wound around very stout ironwork, at upper right.

And then there are two strong and opposing linear features – the diagonal hawser already alluded to, and the sharp, upper edge of the dark metal behind it, which descends at a similar angle and almost seems to cut into the rope – both of these being almost at right angles to the very strong lineations of the cream and black ironwork which cut through the image from lower left to centre right.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click onto the larger image to enlarge it yet again.

Technique: X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 1600 ISO; Lightroom, including the Classic Chrome film simulation; 12 May 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to STILL LIFE 112 – HAWSER 1

  1. Excellent play of light and shadow.

    Like

  2. Ian Gouge says:

    Brings back memories… I once met Nick Park (of ‘Wallace and Grommit’ fame) at a party on the Thekla many years ago. Love the photo!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad its brought memories, Ian. I see you’re a writer – I’ve written lots over the years – science, anecdote, this blog – but never fiction. I wonder about fiction sometimes, but can never convince myself that I’d be any good at it or, also, that I’d stick at it. Adrian

      Like

      • Ian Gouge says:

        Why not give it a go and see how it feels? One thing you could do is to take one of your photos and write something really short about it; wouldn’t need to be full-blown or planned. Nothing major. Maybe even just a couple of hundred words. Like your photo about the cars after the rain. You could imagine who might drive one of them and make something up about them… I wouldn’t worry about quality or anything else at first; just see how it feels…

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Ian, thank you, these are interesting ideas, something I wouldn’t have thought of – I suppose I’ve always been thinking in terms of something much longer – a novel or some such. Well, I’ve made a note in my (paper!) diary to think on such things – which means that I may well do so! I know you’re right about not worrying about quality at first – I’ve always thought that just splashing stuff down is the best way to start anything written – my biggest thing (magnum octopus, as Blackadder’s Baldrick might term it) has been A Bird Atlas of Kenya. Adrian 🙂

          Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Lovely light on your diagonal rope , my favourite colour palette too.

    Like

  4. Now the Thekla is a name I haven’t seen in a very long time!! I used to frequent it reasonably often and there were times where I swear the boat was moving slightly but being older and wiser now put it down to probably the amount of alcohol consumed!!! Great image as always – hope you are well 😃

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, probably the booze! But I expect the boat moves too! Thanks for your good words, Lisa – I’m fine thanks. Probably going to do another early morning foray down into the city tomorrow. A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

