STILL LIFE 111 – FLOOR-CLEANING OPERATIVE RELAXING ON A BED OF HYDROXIDES OF IRON

 

 

.

Or, then again, maybe its a mop in the back of a rusty pickup, it just a question of point of view.  But still, letting my imagination run on a little …. always a process with uncertain outcomes …

“Yes, I can confirm that I’ll be taking my holidays on this bed of hydroxides next year.  Something of a busman’s holiday?  Well, yes, you could say that.  I mean, when you spend your working life being dragged across floors, it might seem that the last thing you want to do on your days off is relax on one …”.

Or, then again:

“Come on in, the hydroxides are lovely!”.

And hydroxides?  Long, long ago, I used to be a chemist of sorts although, looking back on it, I’m not sure I ever had a really good grip on what I was doing – while being absolutely certain that what little knowledge I possessed then has evaporated now!  But when iron comes into contact with oxygen and moisture, it combines with them to form hydroxides and oxides, which we know as rust.

Technique: X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 84mm (equiv); 800 ISO; Lightroom, using the Classic Chrome film simulation; Tottenham Place, Clifton, Bristol; 12 May 2017.

.

.

.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

4 Responses to STILL LIFE 111 – FLOOR-CLEANING OPERATIVE RELAXING ON A BED OF HYDROXIDES OF IRON

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Fabulous. I love the image, and the title is the icing. Just wonderful.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Wonderful, thank you!!! Have just returned from another early morning city trip, feeling knackered as we Brits say, and urgently in need of good Belgian beer which, with forethought aplenty, I’ve laid in in abundance! A 🙂

      Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Yea, come on ..rust is the thing…love the shot too!!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

