STILL LIFE 110 – PARKED CARS, AFTER A RAIN SHOWER

 

 


.
Cars outside Hart’s Bakery, after a brief, early morning rain shower. (When looking at the photos on Hart’s website, hold your cursor over each one to see the caption).

A humid early morning, heavy with the threat of thunder storms moving up from the south on warm, moisture-laden winds.  I made it into Hart’s in the dry, gorged on white, sourdough toast spread thickly with raspberry jam – and loved the way the jam was not served in emotionless, commercial sachets but, rather, was simply brought to the table in an open jar, with a spoon sticking up in the middle of it – people after my own heart – no pun intended!!! 

And there was a cake too and, when the staff weren’t looking, that also got plastered in raspberry jam.  But maybe the (always friendly and pleasant) staff did notice after all because when one of them came over to ask me if the food and coffee had been alright and I asked to be carried to the door, she suggested it might be better rolling me, whereupon I told her she was very rude and we both laughed.

And when I emerged from that veritable gastronomic heaven, there had been a rain shower and, looking towards the light, I saw this scene.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click onto the enlarged image to enlarge it yet again.

Technique: X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 250mm (equiv); 200 ISO; spotmetering for the highlights; Lightroom, using the Velvia/Vivid film simulation; Temple Meads, central Bristol; 12 May 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to STILL LIFE 110 – PARKED CARS, AFTER A RAIN SHOWER

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Sweet story, pun intended…I would have been delighted in the same way about the jam in the jar with the spoon stuck in it, way to deliver the goods! No wonder your eyes were working so well when you stepped out the door.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you like it, my friend – for me, increasingly, little human interactions like that are the stuff of life, they definitely brighten things up, they are worthwhile. Yes, way to go with jam presentation!!! 😀 My eyes working? Well, increasingly I think, its a matter of inspiration, a matter of state of mind – and its certainly not something I can switch on at will – I wish it were!

      Like

  2. The pause that refreshes and inspires! Excellent shot.

    Like

  3. I like the symmetrical shades effect in the picture.

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Your car shots are second to none, which tells me that you love cars!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well, thank you again – very much! – my friend! But you’re wrong – cars for me are nothing more than a means of getting from A to B and, having been in the past in places where my life depended on my vehicle, all I ask of vehicles in general is reliability – knowing that if I leave A I’m going to get to B.

      BUT, I do find cars – and especially the interplay of light and shadow with cars – to be objects of great beauty, and I am forever looking at them in that way.

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

