PEOPLE 267 – GRANDDAUGHTER 3 (MONO)

 

 


.

The younger granddaughter, giving me a very straight look, and processed to bring out some of that seriousness.

This doesn’t look like a granddaughter?  No it doesn’t, but I want to see what I can do with these images – and sticking faithfully to reality, together with producing what is expected, may not be top priorities …  Its more a question, I suppose, of seeing where this takes me.

Technique: many photographers today glory in the fact that they can restore detail to deep shadows and, if this is your aim, then definitely shoot Raw files – more on this another time.  This desire for a shadowless reality is often seen in images of landscapes – you know the kind of thing, the photo is looking eastwards into the blazing, dazzling face of the rising sun – and yet there is still well lit detail visible on the western sides of trees and hedges which face away from the sun.  Well, OK, its a style, but I prefer something more natural, and I’m increasingly reading about people (including talented landscapers) asking just where that “western light” in some landscapes is emanating from.  Personally, as in this image, I greatly value dark shadows – they can look gorgeous, and they bring mystery to an image, they make viewers wonder what is there – I’m a big fan of chiaroscuro, the interplay and effects of contrasting light and shadow in images.  And similarly highlights without detail too, they can also be of visual value – never discount pure black or pure white.

Earlier images in this series, with context, are here: 1; 2.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click again onto this enlarged image to further enlarge it – recommended.

Technique: D700 with 105mm Nikkor lens; 4,000 ISO; Lightroom; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Triste 2 preset, adding a split tone and retaining some grain; 18 Apr 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to PEOPLE 267 – GRANDDAUGHTER 3 (MONO)

  1. Your granddaughter is cute

    Like

  2. steviegill says:

    Great portrait and post processing. Personally, I’m a big fan of low key, it adds a lot of drama and focus to an image.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! I agree with you about low key. But I like to explore, and think high key can have its moments too, although not as frequently – or, maybe, reliably – as darker images.

      Liked by 1 person

      • steviegill says:

        Yes of course, and it’s good to experiment with different styles and techniques – even just for the sake of variety.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I absolutely agree – its always good to try out new approaches and, with digital, such trials have become extremely easy – I feel very fortunate to be around at a time when photography has become so loaded with (relatively) easily accessible creative potential; I have used traditional darkrooms and was thrilled by them at the time (40-50 years ago!), but I have absolutely no urge to return to them!

          Like

  3. bluebrightly says:

    I think this is a fabulous portrait, because it shows the truth that we have many ages inside us. Wonderfully done!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh thank you, Lynn, that’s very encouraging! I’ve never thought about the many ages inside us thing, thank you for that insight, it opens avenues of thought and possibility. A 🙂

      Like

  4. Beautiful portrait of your granddaughter. I like the expression.

    Like

  5. At first I thought, less darkness on the left would suit me, but the more I look, the more it pleases me. Is that her other shoulder on the left? It can makes the darkness more plausible to me because it gives that side more depth I think. Not just flat black. I know nothing of this art called photography, and in my mind you are a master, but I know what I like. Stunning shot, bud. XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gemma, thank you, I appreciate that, bud. Yes, that’s her shoulder over on the left, and between that and her shaded cheek you may just be able to make out some of her hair – or is that the eye of faith??? Thank you again. ATP XXXXXxxxxxxx…………………..!!!!!

      Like

  6. Thanks for giving an insight.

    Like

  7. paula graham says:

    yea, it’s interesting and shows why fashion uses such very young things for their shots, this girl looks probably a lot older than she is.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

