OUTLANDS 16 – THE SMALL VALLEY ON MY LEFT

 

 


.

Another look down into the small valley that was forever on my left as I walked up the track leading northeastwards out of West Littleton – there is another view of this scene here, its the first image in this post.

In the foreground is one of the dry stone walls characteristic of this area – dry stone walling being the type of constriction that has stones laid one on top of the other, so that their angularities hold them together, rather than relying upon mortar to do so – as described here.  This wall is old and has seen better days; its starting to decay – collapse might be a better word – back into its constituent stones, which have dark, weathered edges but very pale, unweathered tops and bottoms.  The geologist in me can tell you that such walls are common here because the local limestones occur in flat layers called strata, so that when quarried they readily form the flat, tabular shapes ideal for building such walls.  And yes, these limestones are Jurassic in age – dinosaurs roamed the world when the rocks in this wall were being created.

Composition: a composition of diagonals, the two lower ones dipping right, and the other two dipping left, and all four forming lines which converge on the far left of the image or further left – I could even see this image rotated 90 degrees clockwise for a different, more abstract, look.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click onto that image to enlarge it yet again.

Technique: X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 113mm (equiv); 400 ISO; Lightroom, including the Classic Chrome film simulation; near West Littleton, South Gloucestershire; 12 Apr 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

13 Responses to OUTLANDS 16 – THE SMALL VALLEY ON MY LEFT

  1. bluebrightly says:

    This photograph has a toy camera look (but better); I even misread the title as The Small Valley at My Feet, strangely. I love the softness of the hedgerows, the placement of the diagonals and shadows. The wall is a bonus. They’re wonderful things, wherever you find them. NY and Connecticut have loads of them, especially Connecticut, and when I lived in the area (north of NYC) I once took a one day workshop on dry stone wall building – it gave me something to do with all those rocks at home, though I never quite made a wall.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Lynn, glad it gets to you, thank you. And that’s exactly what I would do >>> take the course on how to make a wall and then not make one! I did exactly that on a one day course learning how to make flint (ie prehistoric) tools – I was hopeless at it but it was fascinating – I have some Palaeolithic tools here, and its fascinating to think of the hands they have been through, of the hands that made them, probably a hundred thousand years ago or more. A 🙂

      Like

  2. perfect light on these green angles!!

    Like

  3. A very restful and soothing image. Great processing too 🙂

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Just the perfect light shone on you, my friend, not only on you but also on your chosen patch of green!!

    Like

  5. joaquin48 says:

    I love this kind of countryside photos. The way you have styled the photo in lightroom could be as I would have choose to do so. By this it deepens the natural aspect of this landscape. Well done my friend!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you like this image – thank you! Lightroom’s Classic Chrome film simulation has really quite muted colours, which are better for this I think than a palette that is vivid and garish. Adrian 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

