PEOPLE 264 – WATCHING A FATman (NOTE MULTITASKING ON LEFT) (MONO)

 

 


.

Couple outside Woodes very pleasant (and down-to-earth and real) café on Bristol’s Park Street >>> watching a FATman!  I was surprised they noticed me, because I was photographing Woodes’s frontage as a whole and was quite far off.  Even with my habitual 305mm telephoto and its x6 magnification, they only take up about 10% of the frame – that this picture is at all usable is a tribute to both to the quality of the lens and (at 1/105) its stabilisation, and the X-T2’s 24MP too.

Maybe on a mundane morning they were intrigued by a distant, overweight man, who has seen better days and who was artfully dressed in a dirty old coat and the odd sort of hat that the oily drivers of grimy steam locomotives might favour … but then Bristol can be like that, thankfully.  Meaning a counterculture?  Yes, that’s right, but I never mind queuing for my food.

Click onto this image to open a larger version in a separate window – which starts to give an idea of just what a magnification this is.

Technique: X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 800 ISO; Lightroom, including the Velvia/Vivid film simulation; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Dynamic Smooth preset and adding a light coffee (how appropriate!) tone; 21 Apr 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to PEOPLE 264 – WATCHING A FATman (NOTE MULTITASKING ON LEFT) (MONO)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Oh, I’m sure you’re not that odd looking! People are understandably curious about people pointing cameras in their general direction. Nice expressions!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Don’t you be too sure!!! Sartorially elegant I am not, and when out bent on photography, I slip several more rungs (or should that be, flights?) down the elegance ladder! 😉 Oh yes, you’re right about people’s natural curiosity, myself included; though I was photographed so much while leading safaris that I think I became somewhat immune to it – ah, the price of celebrity …. 😀 ….

      Like

  2. A classic – love the expressions on their faces 😄

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Ha, ha, amusing text and the right photo to go with it.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

