PEOPLE 263 – MODERN LIFE (MONO)

 

 

.
Modern Life, in a time-poor, Western society that is dependent upon – and indeed, craves – ever more complex technology, while being overrun with images, information, statistics, stress, competitiveness and data, lots and lots of data.

And do I make this post as a Totally Innocent Soul, one untainted by and unassociated with all this burgeoning modernity?  Well, hardly, as here I am adding yet another image to the ever swirling, ever churning, global mix, while having spent much of my life creating and analysing vast amounts of statistics, data and information. 

OK, my “career” (I use that word cautiously) kept the wolf from the door but, increasingly, I think maybe that’s something said in defence of many things that are not, ultimately, in the best interests of either ourselves, our wildlife or our planet.  Maybe we are all helping create a wolf that, one day, will be totally out of control and unstoppable.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click onto the larger image to further enlarge it – recommended.

Technique: X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 800 ISO; Lightroom, including the Velvia/Vivid film simulation; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Contrast Red Filter preset; St Augustine’s Parade, central Bristol; 21 Apr 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to PEOPLE 263 – MODERN LIFE (MONO)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    I’m with you on paragraph three, and also lately doubting some of the personal value of working for a living – at least to the degree that it produced stress. Stress on the planet, stress on me. There was significant benefit to people at least, emotionally. Things feel better now though, to me, and I think to you. It’s interesting that you are finding people going to work to be an intriguing subject at this time in your life, no? This is a very strong image! I like the way he’s bracketed by numbers, and of course, his expression is priceless.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, no doubt about that, work can produce stress, due to overwork of course, but also caused by that truly wonderful entity, office politics. Oh yes, I prefer this more easy going life – I read somewhere that retirement gives us our lives back, and I think that very true. Yes, I suppose that it is interesting that I should have latched onto photographing the rush hour. The proximity of a mouthwatering bakery may have helped ( 🙂 !!!!!), but I suppose that it may be another facet of this standing back and taking a good look at the work phenomenon overall – one result of which is the conviction that two days off and five days on, with a life to lead in the process, is quite a punishing schedule.

      Like

  2. That’s a clever shot! Really well observed my friend. When’s the op set for? I should have sent my phlebotomist friend down to you! She’s an expert in awkward veins. Mine are dreadful after all these years of being bled or stuck on IV! My father-in-law is having his carpal tunnel operated on next week with just a nerve block rather than full anaesthesia!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Sarah – the picture down in the city, with me looking at anything and everything, which I enjoy. The operation is for hernias – I’m getting older and starting to fall apart! But the hernias are being well behaved at present, with not much pain – I routinely go for 5 mile walks without any problems. LOL!, as well as telling me that she likes “a challenge”, the expert blood-letting nurse that I had they brought up for me came out with something like “I like a challenge … you’ve no idea the parts of the body I’ve extracted blood from before now …” – which made me blanche blanche, and go a little foetal! 😀 I laughed, I like people like that! I can imagine you’re like a pin-cushion, my mother was similarly treated. And I had carpal tunnel some years back, using the computer mouse interminably and wrongly, but luckily didn’t have to have it operated in – tho I was told that the operation is straightforward, so I hope your father-in-law will have an easy time. A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha 😉 I’ve had blood taken from a few odd places when I was really ill but they always have to get doctors to do it! It’ll be good for you to have the hernias dealt with before they do start causing big problems. Hopefully you’ll recover pretty quickly as you keep yourself fit and mobile. My father-in-law is having the op today so I am waiting to hear how it’s gone! He’s been in so much pain the last few years it’s going to make a big difference I think. My hubby has it a bit from his job doing software development but like you he’s managed to avoid it getting serious enough to need the surgery! Long may that continue. He’s a very bad patient so it would be hell for everyone else!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m afraid you may be right.
    Great shot, though.
    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Yes, well spoken , I too feel sadness and fear for the world and its future, yet I merrily use roundup to keep my paths tidy thereby aiding the demise.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you. Yes, I think very few indeed of us are totally without blame. I have to say that I don’t think anything really effective will be done to rectify matters until it is far, far too late – sorry to be so downbeat.

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

