ANNIVERSARY – FATMAN PHOTOS IS SIX

 

 

Maasai

.

Another year has passed.  Quite where it has passed I’m not sure.  Retirement and (ever!) increasing age are seeming to make Life roar by at an ever increasing pace – but that’s fine by me!  If that’s how it is, that’s how it is, and I’m certainly not going to waste my time consciously trying to buck the trend!

And so to another year of FATman Photos, six years in all, which I find quite astonishing.  But, I do it and, very much, I enjoy doing it.  On the creative side, I enjoy the photography – and have no doubt that producing this blog acts as a substantial boost to my endeavours.  And I enjoy all of the writing that goes into the posts too.

And, equally so, I very much enjoy the contact with you all – it is so good communicating with like minds all over the planet!  I’m grateful when you Like my images, that’s always encouraging – but most of all its good to receive Comments from you, I very much value hearing your thoughts and views – and please be assured that ALL viewpoints, negative as well as positive, will be entertained.  THANK YOU ALL, VERY MUCH, FOR YOUR INPUT!

(here are portraits, pictures of faces, in black and white; they can be opened in separate windows by clicking into them; and the title links under them will take you to the actual posts)

.

Great Grey Owl portrait

Great Grey Owl

These past 12 months have been notable for two photographic initiatives.  First, last May, I followed my heart rather than my wallet and bought a mirrorless camera, the Fujifilm X-T1, and a zoom lens.  I have been, as you may know, an out and out full-frame Nikon user, and so this purchase was quite a step.  And on the back of that, I then needed software to process the X-T1’s Raw files, and so to subscribing to Adobe Lightroom.  Finally, I’ve added another Fuji zoom, and recently their X-T2 camera.  And, in summary, I have to say that all of these (not inexpensive!) moves have worked out very well indeed.  I find the X-T cameras wonderful photographic tools for most situations, and I do think that they have given my photography something of a lift.

.

This man is photographing you!

Selfie

And the second initiative has been the taking of early morning buses into Bristol, to photograph morning in the city and, in particular, the morning rush hour.  And this initiative has been significantly helped by the X-Ts’ smaller size and greater portability than the Nikons and, I do think, by people feeling more at ease – less threatened – by being confronted by smaller cameras.  I haven’t really tried to categorise it before, but I suppose this is candid street photography, and certainly a departure for me.  The next thing to think about here, is whether I can summon up the courage to start approaching people in the street, to ask if I can take their picture – most accounts of this hold it to be productive, and far less intimidating than it might initially seem.

HAHAHA!!! >>> and a truly wonderful offshoot of these early morning forays in the city has been the (really quite numerous) visits into various eateries – “to keep my strength up”!  Listen, if you believe that last bit, can I sell you a bridge???  And here I must of course mention Harts Bakery near Temple Meads railway station – the food is extremely tasty, the staff are very pleasant and working their heads off – and I’m simply a total, total fan of the place!

.

A young friend

So, to conclude, what has this blog done since 26 April 2011?  Well,  over 2,100 posts, and there have been over 21,200 comments >>> I (virtually always) make it a rule to reply to Comments, even if only to say a simple “Thank you”, so around half of these are my grateful responses.

Thank you again for taking the time to look at my blog.

Adrian

.

  Woman from Somalia
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

24 Responses to ANNIVERSARY – FATMAN PHOTOS IS SIX

  1. Happy six, dear Adrian!! (…smiling so much for you…)

    Like

  2. Congratulations Adrian. I very much enjoy your posts for their interesting articles and wonderful photography!

    Like

  3. Stunning and thought provoking pictures.

    Like

  4. bluebrightly says:

    Happy six years blogging, the pleasure is ours! I enjoyed reading your summary. Onward! 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! Yes, onward – and upward too – I think that’s good advice for both of us! I’m off early into the city tomorrow with a wide angle zoom – I can never really connect with wide angles these days, unlike my telezooms which fit me like a glove – but I’m going to have another w/a go tomorrow … along with a breakfast or two …. 😉 …..

      Like

  5. Helen Cherry says:

    Congratulations my friend.. I know I don’t comment much these days.. and post even less! Life does indeed rush by even more when you are retired , as I am finding out.. Love these photos.. keep on keeping on x

    Like

  6. All fabulous photos. The owl makes me laugh, the selfie, smile. The Somalian woman is a beauty, the Maasai as well. Your friend is enchanting, your captures, unique. I feel fortunate in having met you. If it weren’t for your blog, we never would have crossed paths.
    Many more, my ATP friend. ❤ As long as you find joy in the process, many more. ❤ATP❤

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m very glad we have crossed paths, my friend, very glad indeed. Thank you for your good words – I certainly still do find joy in the process, I love the creativity involved, and the contact with like minds. Take very good care of yourself. ATP xxxXXXXXX!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I love monochrome portraits!! Wonderful Adrian.

    Like

  8. paula graham says:

    Great feat of love!! and wonderful photos for us to marvel at.

    Like

  9. LensScaper says:

    Congratulations Adrian. I am five and a half! I agree with everything you say about Blogging – it’s difficult at times to keep the images flowing but there is so much pleasure in the interaction with like-minded photographers and and fact that every day I have a new gallery of images on my desktop to inspire me creatively. Retirement is a wonderful phase of life and the ‘spare time’ it provides (wife might disagree with my concept of that) is such a boon.
    I might even follow you down the lightweight approach to photography. Keep going, please!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, thank you very much indeed! And I agree with you too about retirement, it is a wonderful time. I certainly will keep blogging – as you say, its a great soured of pleasure and inspiration.

      Re lighter cameras, I am of course biased, but you could do far worse than look at the Fuji X-T2. I don’t it quite equals the Nikons’ capabilities, especially with rapidly moving subjects eg flying birds, but I am hugely impressed with it. In particular with the images the sensor produces, Fuji’s Film Simulation colour modes (which can also be accessed in Lightroom), and with the X-T2’s ability to process Raw files in various ways in-camera. Adrian

      Like

  10. Huge congrats – 6 years is a big milestone 🙌🍾 I always look forward to catching up with your posts and you have always been very generous with your encouragement, so a big thank you too 😄

    Like

  11. steveo says:

    Happy six Adrian! 🎂 And a very nice selection of photos to celebrate with. 👍

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

