TALKING IMAGES 29 – WHEN TO TAKE PHOTOGRAPHS: TWO IDEAS

 

The way I take photos is slowly changing.  I hope that my methods are improving but, whether or not that’s true, I’m sure they’re subtly evolving.  Here are brief thoughts from two very able photographers about the way they do things.  In both cases, I identified with their thoughts as soon as I read them.  Both quotes are from my wonderful weekly read – Amateur Photographer magazine.

.

Photo credit: Richard Peters

Richard Peters is a wonderful photographer of wildlife – and he’s also an out and out Nikon user, but that’s not what swayed me here.  His quote is short and simple:

.

As I’ve matured as a photographer, I find myself shooting less but shooting smarter and thinking more about the lighting conditions than the subject.

.

Absolutely true.  There is a school of thought that sees photographers making constructive use of whatever conditions they find themselves in and I have subscribed to this idea for a long time.  But, for sometime now, I’m looking for light – and there are times when long walks in the “wrong conditions” yield no images at all.  I’m just walking, getting exercise and (as long as its not raining!) enjoying the moment, and that’s fine – but visually stimulated I am not.  But, in the “right” conditions, WOW! – and I just feel so privileged to be carrying a digital camera that will, should I require it, be able to capture hundreds of images without any thoughts of reloading the capture media.

.

.

Photo credit: Canon Professional Network

And the second quote, in much the same vein, comes from Gali Tibbon (click onto the menu tab on her site’s front page), whose photography explores religious themes:

.

When I encounter a good subject or situation, I photograph it intensely.  My philosophy is to get the most that you can out of any situation, as it may never happen again.

.

So I suppose that my photography is becoming more considered and sporadic.  I walk (or drive) and look, and look, and look.  And there are still many single shots but, when anything with real promise appears, there are very many shots indeed.

.

Showing you images that are the result of intense photography of a single subject might get a bit samey, but here are some that depended on different types of light – in the second image down, I particularly like the light on the birds’ wings.  Clicking onto these images will open them in a separate window and enlarge them, and clicking onto their titles will take you to the original posts.

.

SOMETIME EARLIER IN THE WORLD


 SWANS OVER TEALHAM


 GOING TO WORK 6


RAINBOW AT NAKURU


PORTRAIT OF A YOUNG FRIEND


GOING TO WORK 2

.

.

.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

11 Responses to TALKING IMAGES 29 – WHEN TO TAKE PHOTOGRAPHS: TWO IDEAS

  1. Love the light and subjects of Sometime Earlier In The World 🙂 It’s the title you chose for it that absolutely completes the image for me. It adds so much context and brings so many questions to the viewers mind too! I think it’s the composition and how your subjects are lit that helps you tell that story so well.

    Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    Very well put, by you and the photographers you quoted. The terrific selection of your images illustrates the points. I’ve seen some of those images, or very similar ones, before (the Going to Work, the Young Friend). Nice to see them again in a different context. I confess, I still find it hard to resist snapping when something catches my eye but the light is wrong…but I’ve been trying to consider the light more carefully, now that I have more time to get out, and get out again. And unquestionably, the subjects I return to over and over get worked well, and yield better results.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Lynn, thank you – yes, all of these pictures have already appeared on FATman Photos – and maybe in the Archive category too. I’m very much in favour of posting images more than once – with reasonable intervals between the postings of course – and geek that I am, I have a spreadsheet set up to keep track of what was posted when! I don’t get out much ….. 😉 …. I think that people may like to see images more than once, there seems little point in posting something once and then letting it disappear forever into the abyss – and there is also the point that new followers to the blog haven’t seen the earlier stuff at all.

      I’m not saying at all that there’s anything wrong with snapping anything whatever the light conditions, but I do find myself now – like Richard Peters – looking more for light than for subjects.

      And you’re right – returning to subjects over and over can be very productive, and enlightening -haha!, no pun intended!!!!! 🙂

      Like

  3. Very nice post, Adrian!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

