STILL LIFE 94 – A VIEW OF THE SEA (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 


.
Yes, you can see the sea, but the sign shouts No Entry and the walls and hedges are also there to keep you out – this is a landscape of exclusion.  But maybe that tiny, far distant gate beckons, just maybe it does.

Using SEP2 to restore colour to a black and white image.  Only the road sign is close to true colour, all else is (purposely) undersaturated.  I read somewhere, recently, that our eyes instinctively react – often negatively –  to oversaturation of colour in images, the parallel was drawn with eating overspiced food.  But we are apparently far more tolerant of undersaturated colours, in fact we often find them attractive.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and click onto that larger version once again.

Technique: X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 160mm (equiv); 800 ISO; Lightroom; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Dynamic Harsh preset and selectively restoring colour; Lizard Point, Cornwall; 19 Oct 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to STILL LIFE 94 – A VIEW OF THE SEA (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Nicely done. Not sure about reactions to over-saturated color, as there’s so much of it in use, someone must like it! I guess it has its place, and if under-saturated is more appealing emotionally, I suspect it’s because it’s quieter. The subjects in that experiment were tired and wanted a break! The restless ones in other experiment wanted some excitement, and they went for the over-saturation and HDR…sorry, I’m losing it! 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha! well I get your meaning! And since you mention it, I mainly hate HDR, mostly because I like and value shadows, so I’ve absolutely no urge to brighten them! People talk about the unacceptable face of capitalism – well for me, much as I like and relish using digital photography, HDR (unless done very subtly) is the unacceptable face of digital. A

      Like

  2. I like your colour edit of this!! The sign jumps out!

    Like

  3. Your words match the photograph beautifully. Excellent shot!

    Like

  4. There are no words on the sign. Is that a dymnil for No Entry? Anyway. Spiced food, over or under, love it. And this edit too. 👍🏼
    ❤ATP❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Dymnil??? I don’t think that’s a word that’s got ATP, probably can’t swim! Yes, that’s certainly a No Entry sign – and I have a feeling its used in Europe too, tho I’m not 100% sure. And I’m right with you re spiced food – really got my taste for it in Kenya! Glad you like the pic – thanks! ATP xxxxXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX!!!

      Like

    • That was suppose to be ‘symbol’. Good grief! Autocorrect on the phone’s part and lack of focus on my part. What’s the symbol for dummy?!?!😉❤ATP❤

      Like

      • Adrian Lewis says:

        Hahaha, I think you’ve got to show that phone who’s boss!!!!!!! Well, over here, there are dummies who are stupid, dummies who are mannequins, and dummies that are (as you call them) pacifiers – and I don’t think I’d better give the symbol those!!!!! 😉 …….

        Liked by 1 person

  5. paula graham says:

    Yea, no right to roam in England unlike many other areas of the UK of Abroad. Nice shot.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

