STILL LIFE 91 – MODERN ARCHITECTURE

 

 


.
Sunrise in the city, on a cold, clear morning.

Light from Our Star illuminates elegant modern design.  But the bare winter trees, although far less striking, are important too.  They help balance the composition, and they support the colours of the sky and the light in bringing Natural, uncontrived elements to the scene.

Technique: X-T1 with 55-200 Fujifilm lens at 305mm (equiv); 400 ISO; Lightroom; the Eclipse apartment block, on the edge of Bristol’s Broadmead shopping area; 20 Jan 2017.

 

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

22 Responses to STILL LIFE 91 – MODERN ARCHITECTURE

  1. The colour and lighting in this shot are beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meanderer says:

    The golden light from the rising sun makes that building look very beautiful. I wonder if it was oriented that way for that reason.

    I read the other day that Bristol was voted the best place to live in the country due to its attractions and easy access to the coast and countryside.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oriented that way purposely – that’s an interesting possibility. Yes, I saw that about Bristol too, but am only half convinced = familiarity breeds contempt??? Dunno, do I??? 🙂 Citywise its a possibility I suppose, but otherwise I could think of many southwestern coastal places incl St Ives, Lyme Regis etc etc

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        I wonder whether its the variety of culture. Bristol seems to appear a lot in the news as being a ‘happening place’, man 😎

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Yes, the culture thing is true – and its apparently well known for up market food – I had a very good North African lunch yesterday, and have been to Harts Bakery this morning! 🙂 Yes, a happening place too – but, like many places, vast variations between rich and poor, haves and have-nots. A

          Liked by 1 person

  3. bluebrightly says:

    Gorgeous colors, Adrian, and only LR so I assume it looked a lot like this straight out of the camera – which speaks well for the camera. Not to mention the mind behind it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, the camera is very impressive indeed. And I used its spotmeter to meter for the highlights, so that much of the building is darker than it would have appeared to the naked eye – I didn’t want to try and expose everything realistically, and I didn’t want to expose for the shadows and have the highlights burn out. But just because I used only LR to process the image does not at all mean that the image looked like this straight out of the camera. For a start, I shoot Raw files and, straight out of the camera, they can look flat and insipid – but they contain all the data that enables them to be pepped up. Also, you need to know that LR’s processing powers are vast, so that only using LR is not necessarily a sign of originalness (what a great word 🙂 !!!). In this instance, I’ve slightly modified the sunlit areas, and restored the blues of the sky to how I remember them A

      Like

      • bluebrightly says:

        No doubt you can do a whole lot in LR. And there’s always more to learn. Sometimes I get stuck using it in tried and true ways, then I find out about another facet…
        You did the right thing, metering for that highlight, and only the subtle hint of color in the sky….”pepped up” with delicacy!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Lynn, glad you like the image – thank you! Yes, delicacy, I think that’s often the thing. I keep reading more about LR in photographic magazines, and with the help of Amateur Photographer, my wonderful weekly read, have just found something else quite unexpected in LR, which I’ll post on soon. Thinking of you often. Adrian 🙂

          Like

  4. paula graham says:

    A beauty, soft, gently light and colours and a promise of more!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rupali says:

    Love this shot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Rupali, thank you very much, that’s encouraging! I see from your blog that you started blogging for the writing aspect of it, but have now become more interested in the photography side. Well, I often see and enjoy your photograps on Discover, you have a good eye for an image. Thank you again. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rupali says:

        Thank you for your kind words Adrian. I am developing my photography skills though it is just a hobby. I like visiting your blog and am impressed by your work.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Thank you! I’m trying to talk more about technique and composition now, and hoping some will find that useful. Adrian

          Liked by 1 person

          • Rupali says:

            I would love to get some lessons. Thank you for sharing your knowledge.

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              Well, re learning about photography, 3 things come to mind. First, keep practising, keep taking pictures – in this digital age, taking pictures is cheap, and it will give you a wonderful platform on which to experiment and get instant feedback on your results. Second, look at as many pictures as you can – any images, not just photos – and try and think why you like or dislike them, try to get ideas about what is effective and why, and what is ineffective and why. Third, if you look in the sidebar on this blog, you will find a drop-down list where you can view whole Categories of my posts – click onto this drop-down, scroll down towards the bottom of the Category list, and click onto Talking Images – read through these posts, you may find things of use here. Adrian

              Liked by 1 person

      • Rupali says:

        You said you saw my photographs on Discover. I didn’t know I was on Discover. Thank you for sharing this 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I think I’m right in saying that all new WordPress posts appear on Discover, or, more certainly, those that are not likely to cause offence to anyone – but I’m not 100% certain. But I try to look through Discover most days and any post that I Like, whether on Discover or not, appears in the IMAGES I’VE LIKED RECENTLY section of this blog’s sidebar. The length of time any post stays in this section depends upon how soon I Like other images.

          Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

