ARCHIVE 280 – MALLARD

 

 

mallard
.
Mallard in Herons Green Bay, Chew Valley Lake, Somerset; 6 Apr 2015.

A Minimalist image – some ripples and a silhouetted duck.

The up-curled tail feathers show this to be a male (drake) Mallard, a very common and often tame waterbird here in the UK.

This is a colour image, albeit one with little colour in it.  And I’ve used CEP4‘s Cross Balance filter to give the effect of Tungsten (i.e. artificial light) film that has been used in daylight, which has resulted in the image’s cool, faintly bluish tints.

Technique: D700 with 70-300 Nikkor lens at 300mm; 200 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4, using the Cross Balance filter.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

9 Responses to ARCHIVE 280 – MALLARD

  1. paula graham says:

    I think I have seen this post before and I think I probably reacted in the same way in that the photo appeals to me a lot cause it gets to the essence of the scene, blotting out all that is unimportant.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, this is an archive post, it has been posted before, so you may well have seen it. I’m a great believer in not simply putting out a post once, if only because new followers to my blog will not have seen it. But – wait for it! – I ensure that no Archive post appears too soon after its initial posting by means of an Excel spreadsheet and, at the moment, there are very few posts indeed that have appeared more than twice – having been blogging for nearly 6 years now, I have a big archive to draw upon.

      And yes, this is a Minimal composition, very little in it really, just the bare bones. Glad you like it. 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

