PEOPLE 255 – MEN IN A BUS SHELTER (MONO)

 

 

men-in-a-bus-shelter-mono
.
Men waiting for a bus.

Composition: the two men in the foreground make this image, and there are at least two ways of viewing the resulting composition.  I first thought that the man on the right, the one peering around the edge of the shelter, makes this image – probably because he’s sharp and not obscured by the sunlit grime of the shelter’s transparent side.  My eyes seemed first to go to him, and then to the fully exposed face of the older man on the left, and thence on to the other two, half-seen men further back in the shelter.  But now I wonder if the older man on the left is not the attention grabber and, if that is the case, then there is a dynamic – do I go from him to look at the man on the right (which I probably do), or go to look at the men at the back – and thence find my eyes going back and fore along this “human chain”?  What do you think?  Who do you look at first?

With superhuman patience I might have been able to further reduce the amounts of grime visible on the shelter’s side, but I don’t have that patience and, anyway, this is unprettified city life.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window, and then click again on this larger version.

Technique: X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 200 ISO; Lightroom; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Strong Infrared High Contrast preset and adding a light coffee tone; Victoria Street, central Bristol; 24 Feb 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to PEOPLE 255 – MEN IN A BUS SHELTER (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Interestingly composed !

    Like

  2. Jane Lurie says:

    I love this image, Adrian. I’ve been working on a bus stop project and it has been fascinating.

    Like

  3. David says:

    It may be full face that gets our attention despite the one on the right being sharper? Good reminder that our attention may not be as predictable as we think! Excellent image!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Davis, yes, you may be right, our attention goes to the face on the left – perhaps because it is a larger paler presence in the frame, despite not being so sharp? Thanks for your thoughts! Adrian

      Like

  4. Irfan says:

    I’m in love with your photography, this one is no exception! It’s so simple yet so beautiful 🙂

    Like

  5. bluebrightly says:

    Nicely done! Really JUST right.

    Like

  6. I usually know – at least after awhile – why I like things. Here I don’t – but I definitely like it! Thanks for the picture and the puzzle 🙂

    Like

  7. paula graham says:

    So well seen…the perfect moment. I love it.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

