STILL LIFE 84 – A REFLECTION OF THE RISING SUN

 

 

a-reflection-of-the-rising-sun
.
Another early morning in the city, and the rising sun blazing across the river.  The side of this building was in shade, but the golden, early morning light was being reflected back into this shade, lighting up the scene.  There was the golden light (and some tree shadows) on the thinly striated wall, five narrow windows in a horizontal line, and a parked car below.  That assemblage of items has been cropped, and then rotated onto its side.

Technique: this is a photographic first for me, the highest ISO I’ve ever used – the X-T1 was at 51,200 ISO, and the exposure was still only 1/180th, wide open at f4.8.  And although I always shoot Raw files, that was not possible here – unlike the X-T2, the X-T1 only shots Raw up to 6400 ISO, producing jpegs above that.  Technically not a perfect photo by any means, and not one to be enlarged to any great size, but that’s OK with me.  And I’ve attempted to turn the three objects – the car, the windows and the golden light – into a still life assemblage.  Some might prefer the lines of the car parallel / at right angles to those of the windows, the wall’s striations and the image’s edges, but maybe the discordance accentuates the incongruity of the whole thing.  What do you think?

Click onto the image to open a  larger version in a separate window, and them click once more onto the enlarged image.

Technique: X-T1 with 55-200 Fujifilm lens at 305mm (equiv); 51,200 ISO; Lightroom, including rotation 90 degrees clockwise; opposite Temple Meads railway station, central Bristol; 20 Jan 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to STILL LIFE 84 – A REFLECTION OF THE RISING SUN

  1. bluebrightly says:

    I’m not caring what it is – I like the colors! 😉 That being said, something in me wants the car to read differently. I like the way its color plays with the other colors but I wish it wasn’t so identifiable as a car door, oriented oddly. OK, you asked!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I did ask, and I’m grateful for the response! And I understand what you’re saying, Lynn – I was hoping that the orientation and partial view of the car might subdue its meaning a bit, but maybe its still very much what it is – maybe the picture would benefit from its being cropped right out? What do you think? A 🙂

      Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    Very nice, Adrian. Love the golden light and the shadows upon it. The rotation adds the extra dimension of disorientation!

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Hmmm, yes, different and quite startling.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

