ARCHIVE 278 – IN THE SOUK (MONO)

 

 

adl648bx
.
Man selling fish in the market at Sohar, on the Batinah coast of Oman; mid 1970s.

For a little more info, see the Oman 1 post, here .

Technique: Praktica LTL with 29mm Pentacon lens; Agfa CT18 colour slide rated at 64 ISO; converted into mono, and toned, in Silver Efex Pro 2.

UPDATE: here are real memories – both photographic and general –  from long ago.  My first visit to Oman, as a geologist, was in 1975, and I was there the following year too.  The interior of the country was a wild and largely undeveloped place then, and I have wonderful if distant memories of driving Land Rovers into the mountains, a baptism by fire at off-road driving that was to serve me well in Kenya a few years later.  In those days, Sohar was a little, undeveloped town on Oman’s Batinah coast; but I hear that Sohar is now greatly modernised and enlarged, even with its own university.  But in those days the Indian Ocean’s great bounty of fish was hauled daily up onto Sohar’s beach (see the Oman 1 post linked to above – recommended) and, in the absence of extensive refrigeration, either sold right there, or here in the town’s little market (souk).

The Praktica LTL was my first single lens reflex (SLR) camera, and the Pentacon my first wide angle lens.  And I was already using the Agfa CT18 colour transparency film, so good at registering landscapes’ browns, that was also to be my film of choice in Kenya.  And looking at this ” people shot”, I think once again that I should have done more in this genre in those far off days.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to ARCHIVE 278 – IN THE SOUK (MONO)

  1. Jane Lurie says:

    Marvelous image, Adrian. The composition is fantastic along with the beautiful light.

    Like

  2. I love black and white shades

    Like

  3. bluebrightly says:

    It’s a wonderful shot and very nicely processed for the subject. Vignetting perfect too!

    Like

  4. Excellent photo, beautifully lit.

    Like

  5. I always love your archive shots – really great image 😀😀

    Like

  6. paula graham says:

    He is obviously going to feed the 5000…super shot and so well processed. Love it.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

