STILL LIFE 82 – MAN ON FOOTBRIDGE

 

 

man-on-footbridge
.
Man, wearing sunglasses and walking across a footbridge, seen as a reflection in the waters below.

This must be amongst the most indecipherable and abstract images that I’ve ever posted.  It does represent reality, it is based on reality, but that reality has been heavily altered by digital post-processing – and then a frame has been added.

Technique: it is the reflection of a footbridge over water in Bristol’s Floating Harbour, with a man walking over it, walking towards the left.  First, because it is a reflection, it was upside down and so I’ve turned it right way up.  Then I’ve substantially lightened it in Lightroom, to restore many of the colours to what was originally a silhouette.  This radical lightening has removed most of the water’s blue tint – some can still be faintly seen right in the middle of the shot, and there are faint blue ripples coming across the top of the shot, just below the man’s head, from upper left towards lower right.  This lightening has also blasted much of the water’s surface to pure white, and so, because I have a white background to my blog, I’ve added a thin black border to outline the image’s space.  The thin yellow poles are the uprights which support the bridge’s guardrails, and the man is walking towards the left, just about between two of these yellow uprights.  The reflection of his head is distorted by the water’s ripples, but dark sunglasses can just be seen above his nose.

Is this an image that I like, and that I may go on liking?  Probably not, as its rather too contrived for my taste.  But I do think it worthwhile posting it, to show the effect.  What do you think?

Looking at this, I’m reminded of (a poor attempt at) the style of Salvador Dali, a Surrealist artist that I greatly admire – his Persistence of Memory (the “folding clocks”) hangs over our living room mantelpiece.

Technique: X-T1 with 55-200 Fujifilm lens at 137mm (equiv); 800 ISO; Lightroom, including rotation by 180 degrees; Color Efex Pro 4; Pero’s Bridge, at The Waterfront, central Bristol; 20 Jan 2017.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to STILL LIFE 82 – MAN ON FOOTBRIDGE

  1. “Is this an image that I like, and that I may go on liking? Probably not, as its rather too contrived for my taste. But I do think it worthwhile posting it, to show the effect. What do you think?”

    Perhaps because it is a photo that “grows” over time? I like it a lot… Very non-figurative.

    Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    Fantastic. I realise more and more how much I was missing your posts 🙂

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    I really like how you’ve processed this image. The colours against the white background are really eye-catching and appealing – particularly the blues and golds. Like lots 🙂

    Like

  4. bluebrightly says:

    Well, one thing that interests me about it is that the colors, after all that processing, have a transparent, stained glass effect that seems to be in keeping with the subject….and they’re nice colors. Not a failed Dali at all, something entirely different, in my view.

    Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Your new way of seeing is a delight to the beholder!!

    Like

  6. Sallyann says:

    It made me smile. 🙂

    Like

  7. A very beautiful abstract – the colours remind me of enamelled art deco jewellery 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

