STILL LIFE 79 – FOUR CHAIRS BELOW A TABLE (MONO)

 

 

four-chairs-below-a-table
.
Browns restaurant, Queens Road, Bristol; 3 Feb 2017.

My day started early as they often do, and I got downtown at dawn and took a few photos.  But my heart wasn’t really in it because I know that yet another deep depression was steamrollering its way in from the Atlantic, and that it would be saturating Bristol with rain well before the morning was through.

And so to a stop in Browns up market (and certainly not down budget!) palace for Eggs Royale and a pot of very nice english tea.  I lounged there, looking around and feeling a bit out of things after the early start, and a table with four chairs that was catching the light from a window kept drawing my eye.

And so to opening my bag and getting out the camera, and looking through the viewfinder – but by then a couple had occupied the table next to the one I was looking at, and I had the uncomfortable feeling that they thought the camera was being pointed at them.  But at least this Fuji is not so large and intimidating, or so loud, as the Nikons, and I pressed quickly on and took two frames.

Technique: the table’s top was brightly lit and cluttered with many things, but I liked the look of the seats of the four chairs that were faintly glowing in the table’s shadow – and so to a composition in which the table’s bright and cluttered top is squeezed into the top fifth or so of the frame, while the seats of the chairs glow in the less brightly lit ‘underworld’ below.  There was a lot of contrast in the scene but the camera’s multi-zone metering (aided by the live histogram I’ve opted to have visible in the viewfinder) dealt with it well, and although the colour image is attractive – one of those instances where the near absence of colour really works – it really seemed to be a scene that would suit black and white, and so to SEP2.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window – recommended.

Technique: X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 125mm (equiv); 12,800 ISO; Lightroom; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Dynamic Smooth preset and adding a tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to STILL LIFE 79 – FOUR CHAIRS BELOW A TABLE (MONO)

  1. Sallyann says:

    Nice to see they still have comfy seats in this colourless world. 😊

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    Very nice and atmospheric, Adrian. Love the light on the table and the one seat pad.

    Like

  3. I like the atmosphere of this shot, and I also like the idea of a live histogram in the viewfinder too! I used to like Browns, it’s a beautiful building – though I didn’t realise it was originally used as the museum and library 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No, I didn’t realise that either – haha! maybe its just a little too posh for me – but they still take my money! 😉 One thing about the X-T2 is that you can customise all sorts of things, including the info that’s shown in the really very big and good electronic viewfinder, its wonderfully informative – the histogram is not large but its there, and its useful to see if highlights are over exposing – as I understand it, such live histograms report on jpeg versions of what the viewfinder can see, as opposed to the Raw versions that I always capture, but its still useful.

      And very sad news this morning – a young lad from Weston, missing after a night out in Bristol in mid Jan, has at last been found, dead in the docks – its all too easy to fall in there after drunken nights out, as it is in Bath too. Very, very sad.

      Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Interesting photo…am I to think that this camera outfit is the answer to our dreams?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I have to say that this new X-T2 is very, very good, I think of it as a really good and useful photographic tool. It isn’t perfect of course, no camera is and the Nikons certainly aren’t, but I feel distinctly privileged to own the X-T2 – and I’ve kept the X-T1, which will be mostly for the wide angle zoom, while the X-T2 will be used with the really very good telezoom. The X-T2’s improved autofocus still isn’t quite up there with the Nikons – I’ll post on this in due course – but it is much improved. And Amateur Photographer tells that good as my D700 is in low light, its now quite old as digital cameras go, such that modern sensors eg the X-T2’s can better it >>> and that Lightroom’s noise reduction tools are the way go when shooting Raw. A

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

