SOMERSET LEVELS 286 – DAWN IN THE HEADLIGHTS

 

 

dawn-in-the-headlights
.
Driving in the dawn along Kid Gate Drove, on the western fringes of Tealham Moor; 27 Jan 2017.

I’d turned off the main road and all at once the narrow lanes in the wetter, flatter country were white in the headlights.  Someone had driven down this road before me on this freezing morning and, like me, had no doubt driven with great care.  It was difficult to stand up on this icy surface, and the strange thing was that this ice seemed to be affecting only the roads,  the surrounding fields looked quite normal.

So I sat in the car, turned the headlights onto fill beam, and took this photo through the windscreen.  Dead, yellowing grasses on the sides of the road lead down to a road sign blazing white in the distance – the road turns abruptly to the left down there, and anyone speeding southwards down Kid Gate Road, especially at night, needs to know about that.

There is more about this bitterly cold visit to the Somerset Levels here.

There is another, very different, image illuminated by car headlights here.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

X-T2 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 84mm (equiv); 25,600 ISO; illuminated by daybreak and car headlights.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

13 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 286 – DAWN IN THE HEADLIGHTS

  1. bluebrightly says:

    I like the feeling this conveys…as you can see, I’m trying to catch up a bit after a long absence from my computer. Between being too stressed and busy, and only having a phone to look at, the last three or more weeks have not been conducive to viewing posts.

    Like

  2. The golden tips of the grasses seem to lead the way down your icy road, creating a wall of safety toward a peace blue sky. The landscape on the horizon makes me think of smoke rising from the earth. I love this picture, bud. It calms me, though I’m sure the slippery road was not in the least bit calming.
    XXXATPXXX
    P. S. puppy has found a new home. Mixed emotions but better for him. There will be tears on Saturday when he goes. And lots of hugs before. 💔

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      ATP, thank you for your good thoughts – and if I’ve calmed you with my picture then I’m very well satisfied – that’s good! No, haha!! the slippery surface wasn’t calming, it was all a bit OMG!!! There was no alternative but to drink heavily really … but there wasn’t any around! 😉 …. maybe I should think of carrying a hip flask … or a fire bucket … 😉 …..

      Listen, I very much understand how much you are attached to the puppy – a love/hate relationship? But from what you’ve told me, I’m sure this is the right decision – tears yes, but best for you all in the end. ATP xxXXXXXXXXXXXX!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Meanderer says:

    Nice and moody. I like the way the headlights have illuminated the straw-coloured grasses.

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Beautiful blue dawn light…, Love it!!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

