ARCHIVE 271 – FATman WITH A FISHEYE (MONO)

 

 

uio_1715triste2x
.
FATman with a fisheye lens on Tadham Moor; the Somerset Levels, 11 Dec 2013.

The tall, dark but not handsome shadow lower left is me, taking this photo with a full-frame fisheye lens, which has a 180 degree field of view across the diagonal.  I’m tilting this wild lens slightly downwards, and so the horizon is slightly bowed upwards.

I’m standing at a small crossroads that I know very well and love very much.  To the left, out of view, is the Magic Carpark.  Straight on is Totney Drove, which rolls on westwards towards Rattling Bow and Westham.  And to the right is Jack’s Drove, which I often mention and photograph, making off northwards towards Tealham Moor.  Jack’s Drove is flanked by one of the water-filled ditches, the rhynes (rhymes with “scenes”), that are the field boundaries in this very damp area, and pale lengths of corrugated iron have been built into the rhyne’s bank to (try to!) prevent the road from collapsing into the waterway.

Up from my shadow is a large, dark Willow (the largest tree in the frame), and in front of this is a pale Willow stump – which is the subject this other post.

D700 with Sigma 15mm fisheye; 200 ISO; starting at Silver Efex Pro 2’s Triste2 preset.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to ARCHIVE 271 – FATman WITH A FISHEYE (MONO)

  1. Beautiful picture.
    If I go to England with my car, I heve to pay attention to ride on my left lol

    Like

  2. “The tall, dark but not handsome shadow lower left is me…” You are very funny (as always). I like this one a lot. 👍

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Stupendous…Love it. Very good processing too.

    Like

  4. Wow, this is really cool. Love it!

    Like

  5. This one I like very much!!!!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

