OUTLANDS 9 – BESIDE THE ROAD IN WEST LITTLETON 4

 

 

beside-the-road-in-west-littleton-4
.

This picture is best viewed enlarged.  When in my blog, click onto this image to open a larger version in a separate window.  In my browser, clicking again on the image once I’ve opened it enlarges it further.

One of a small flock of sheep grazing beside the road in the village of West Littleton, South Gloucestershire; 7 Dec 2016.

This is a type of composition that I’ve used before with larger animals.  Making very quiet noises made the sheep curious, and as they came in closer to get a better look at me I was able to (virtually) fill the frame using a telephoto.  The animal’s face occupies the right of the frame, with its more softly focused flank constituting most of the backdrop.  I wanted to keep the little hairs sticking up from the top of its head and so was forced to include the negative space above its back, which I’ve slightly darkened to remove any hint of distraction.

There is another photo of one of these animals here.

The context for these Outlands photos can be found here, and other images from West Littleton are here and here.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 800 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to OUTLANDS 9 – BESIDE THE ROAD IN WEST LITTLETON 4

  1. bluebrightly says:

    You do have a sympathetic nerve for those beasts, and their fur and feathers textures!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I suppose I love them, don’t I? Not sentimentally so, perhaps, but I do like being close to living things and, where possible, experiencing some form of interaction with them, if only near subliminally. I am looking at them, but they are also looking at me.

      Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful and interesting portrait, Adrian. You excel at this type of image.

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Oh Bless…sheep are curious and endearing creatures.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

