ARCHIVE 270 – REFLECTION OF A SMALL BOAT

 

 

cor1_157x
.

The prow of a small boat in Mevagissey harbour, Cornwall, on a still morning; 24 Oct 2012.

I think this must be the most perfect reflection photo I’ve ever taken.  Conditions were ideal – an overcast morning with barely a whiff of breeze. 

This boat was moored at the quay, and the rusting chain is its mooring line.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 240mm; 5000 ISO.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

27 Responses to ARCHIVE 270 – REFLECTION OF A SMALL BOAT

  1. Woah. Fantastic shot, my friend.

    Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    Almost too good to be true – a perfect reflection and such graceful lines too.

    Like

  3. Great capture yes! Looks like something I could draw with my awkward zentangling capabilities. Nice work, bud.

    XXXATPXXX

    Like

  4. bluebrightly says:

    Quite beautiful, Adrian, it really seems unreal in the perfection of symmetry. The handsome colors don’t hurt either!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Lynn, thank you – and I know just what you mean about its seeming unreal, yet it didn’t receive overmuch post processing – its very much a case of being in the right place at the right moment I think – plus having a telephoto zoom along too!!! I’d be lost without 70-300 telezooms, they reflect how I see. I read of another photographer like this recently; like me, he tries to use wide angles too, but the results are often formulaic, which is exactly what I find. Adrian

      Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    I remember this image from before. ‘Perfect’ was the word that sprung to mind this time around, also. So satisfyingly symmetrical and pleasing to the eye.

    Like

  6. That leaves Excellent! for me. 🙂

    Like

  7. That is such a good shot Adrian. Superb 🙂

    Like

  8. wow!!! what a composition!!!!!

    Like

  9. paula graham says:

    Perfect, indeed…how to improve on that!! Well done my friend

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

