ARCHIVE 268 – PENZANCE STAIRS WITH DRINKS CAN

 

 

newq_312ax
.
Drinks can on stairs in Penzance, Cornwall; 14 Sept 2011.

Inhibition is a strange thing – and most often something which I refuse to give in to.  After all, doesn’t that song from The Rocky Horror Picture Show say something like “Do it, don’t dream it!’?  But I’ve rambled on before about the – as I see it –  cardinal sin of digital photography being trying to pass off some highly manipulated colour image as point of capture reality, and that is something I’m quite sure about. 

So, here, yes this a picture of a drinks can on partially sunlit stairs in Penzance, but I’ve made the sunlit area much brighter than it actually was and I’ve very significantly increased the bright orange of the can to make it more prominent.  I feel better for letting you all know that!

This was originally posted under ‘Colour’, and its an example of very little colour helping a picture.  The green at top center, the (now) blazing orange can and the deep brown of the handrail are all relatively small items, but remove them and the picture loses something, and presenting it in straight monochrome makes it very featureless indeed – although there may be some potential for a really radical black and white conversion here.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor lens at 300mm; 800 ISO.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to ARCHIVE 268 – PENZANCE STAIRS WITH DRINKS CAN

  1. LensScaper says:

    A classic example of the concept that ‘Seeing’ doesn’t cease at the point of capture but continues through to the way we process that image, and importantly (but often difficult to achieve) is the ability to be able to visualise the end product before we press the shutter. Very cleverly processed, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, thank you very much! I certainly can’t claim to be able to pre-visualise all my pictures’ end states at capture, but I absolutely agree with you about continuing to see as post-processing proceeds. Adrian

      Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    Yes, the color glows…and I’m so glad you confessed, and felt better. 😉 Another thing the change in color does (I presume) is to cause a wavering between the stairs and railing so that they land in the same plane, likewise, the stairs don’t seem to recede but all seem to be right up front. I like that.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I see what you mean about the stairs not appearing to recede, but I really don’t know if that’s an effect of the colour or not – two other factors may be that they’re steep stairs, and then there’s the compression produced by my dearest darling(!), the 300mm lens. I’ve never thought about this image in the ways that you mention, its very good having your input, Lynn, thank you. A 🙂

      Like

  3. athyfoto says:

    You make it sound as if you had done something bad. I am certain that Ansel Adams and other masters of photography wouldn’t shy away from dodging and burning and adding or removing contrast. Personally, I followed their example in my own dark room and really enjoyed the process of being creative. I love the image you came away with.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well, Frank, this is an old post, from the Archives, and I for many from the Archives I leave the accompanying text as it was, and this is how I felt then. I have to say that attitudes are changing, to something more in line with your’s. I’ve quite radically altered black and white images for quite a long time, I find it a tremendously creative medium. But I’ve had a bit of a block about doing the same with colour and, for certain, I wouldn’t want to get anywhere near anything that is garish or oversaturated – unless there is a good argument for such treatment. So, I’ll see of my attitudes continue changing. Thank you very much for your thoughts – glad you like the end product! Adrian

      Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Yea, your new ways suit me!!

    Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    I think I liked this one the first time around. 😊
    To my eyes this time it looks like a wall with a drainpipe, but then thanks to the can on the step my brain pulls it back into perspective… Or is that the double sided sticky tape in use again. 😊

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      You haven’t got shares in double-sided sticky tape, have you? Or an obsession (hopefully about such tape) that is taboo for the family to discuss over Xmas lunch … ??? ….

      I see just what you mean about the wall and drainpipe – absolutely! A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Great composition. I like the way the light divides the frame; and defines the stairs; strong handrail in the middle and the tin can to keep us in ‘real life’..

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

