STILL LIFE 75 – BMW

 

 

bmw
.
Park Street, in Bristol city centre; 2 Dec 2016.

My seeing this as a “real” car has absolutely nothing to do with it being a BMW and absolutely everything to do with it being grimy and therefore “used” and “real”. 

Years ago, I spent lots of time in wild places where the primary requirement for a vehicle was reliability, in some instances life-preserving reliability, and that mindset has never left me.  I am quite unable to get into the view that my vehicle must be sparklingly clean and pristine – manicured even – because it is in some way a status symbol, because it “says something about me” as a person.

Along with some moderate economy in terms of numbers of miles to the gallon (anyone remember gallons????), I simply want to know that when I leave point A I can rely on my motor to get me to point B.  I’m aiming at a simple life, and this is a part of that.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor lens at 300mm; 6400 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to STILL LIFE 75 – BMW

  1. Eurobahn BMW MINI Mercedes-Benz Audi of Greensboro says:

    thats one dirty BMW

    Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    I agree with your sentiments, but If you are a rich git and can afford a posh motor, at least look after it.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Perhaps I am bring a little impish or provocative, but here – unusually – I must disagree with you. As I used to tell my safari clients, if function is everything, then the Spotted Hyaena is truly beautiful. And, in many instances, function is all I’m after – and this very much applies to cameras – I’m not interested at all in what cameras look like (tho I grant you it is best to keep them clean), I’m not interested in the fashion side or the cosmetic aspects, I just want something that sits well in the hand, where the vital controls are all to hand (or finger), and which produces images under the most trying of conditions. Am I touch puritanical? – well, that would be a vast insult – but I just want something that – car or camera – delivers the goods. Sorry to ramble on! A 🙂

      Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    Oh how I would love to write in the grime on the back of this car…
    “underneath all this dirt is a little red mini ”

    Of course, you wouldn’t catch me doing something like that. (although, maybe you would catch me, I’m not very good at the quick getaway, I was always the one to be caught at “rat-a-tat ginger”.

    Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Yes – simplicity; where did that go? You used to be able to maintain your own vehicle quite easily as an amateur mechanic but modern cars are so complicated, run by computers as most are, that they really need to be taken to a garage now.

    Computers are more and more complicated with many hours (and money) going into updating and maintenance (although I’ve had the same laptop for coming up 8 years). I bought a smartphone early last year and have all but given up using it such are the demands for updating, upgrading, and maintenance.

    Whining over 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, simplicity, something this age seems anxious to eschew. I went to an excellent exhibition of Anglo-Saxon gold in Bristol museum yesterday – after another pre-dawn photo shoot on the streets – those last few words sound cool, don’t they? – but the streets were not cool at all but ******** freezing, but the toasted cheese sandwich 2nd breakfast from the bakery set me up for things.

      Anyway. ok these Anglo-Saxon gold artefacts are certainly extremely valuable and so security has to be tight, but accessing the gallery via showing a sensor something the till had just printed, which opened a barrier and then opened glass doors, was unworldly. But the gallery was really set out very well, complete with gloom, and recordings of Tawny Owls, marching warriors and a blazing, spitting fire – all very much my stuff!

      VERY interested to hear of your experience with the smartphone. A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. If grime makes a car ‘real’ they don’t get any more than my car!!! xxxATPxxx

    Like

  6. paula graham says:

    Yea…you and cars go hand in hand!! Another lovely shot, I like the idea of this expensive car being so dirty and thus being a real worker..cool.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Maybe this idea is most pronounced in the comparison between the glisteningly clean 4x4s using only around towns, and those use by country people, esp farmers, in real 4×4 terrain out in the countryside – where they are real working vehicles (as opposed to status symbols) and function is everything. Glad you like the shot. A

      Like

  7. interesting perspective here Adrian – both image and thoughts!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

