BRISTOL 113 – MENS OUTFITTERS

 

 

mens-outfitters
.
Gazing in through the window of a menswear emporium, on central Bristol’s now only slightly classy Park Street; 2 Dec 2016.

Gazing in … longingly … perhaps …?   Well, hardly.  I mean, its the sort of place I’m dragged into, kicking and screaming, once or twice a decade. 

Although it often seems more frequently than that. 

Makes the blood run cold just thinking about it, to be honest.  Far, far worse than a garden center.

Click onto the image, if you have a taste for this sort of thing, to open a larger version in a separate window. 

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor lens at 220mm; 25,600 ISO – and I wish you all a very, very good New Year.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to BRISTOL 113 – MENS OUTFITTERS

  1. Sallyann says:

    … A shirt for the office… A place for everything and everything in its place.

    Sometimes I long for a nine to five job where I could wear nice shoes and paint my nails.

    Then I come home from work of a morning, tired after a long night of being constantly on the go, trainers dusty and a hole in one knee of my trousers from constantly scrabbling around on the “bottom shelf”, change into pj’s and my oversized thick toweling dressing gown, hug my huge cup of coffee and think…

    Nahh! 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Sounds good! But many places are not 9-5 now of course, due to flexi time – being a maniac (oh, you didn’t know that then?), my days were 7am-3pm, by choice. And office clothes got me down, I just gave up on ties, simply couldn’t be bothered – and no one said a word! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. LensScaper says:

    …And they look like they are the pricey end of the market. One of the joys of retirement is not having to wear a jacket and a tie – just slum it. Wonderful.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, certainly the pricier end! Absolutely agree with you about retirement – I was never one for jackets anyway, but in the decade or so before retirement I ditched ties too and just wore presentable shirts – and none of my managers (I use the term loosely) found it in themselves to say a word! Perhaps I was the James Dean of data analysis …. 😀 ……

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Not the biggest shopper, but I do love buying plants..lol. Happy New Year, Adrian!! 🙂

    Like

  4. bluebrightly says:

    That’s a lovely shot, really nicely balanced. You made me laugh – worse than a garden center, eh? Come on!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Making people laugh and smile is something I have long liked to do in Life, it seems very worthwhile – so I’m glad this got to you! The thing about garden centres is of course used as a joke but, really, I prefer my Nature/living things natural, and garden centres (and gardens) are emblematic of a desire to mould living things to one’s own preferences – how pompous that sounds! Well, pompous it may be, but such things are not for me. Years of working in wild places, including Kenya, have left their mark, and that’s how I am. I returned here in 1989 with a rather changed mindset, and I’m grateful for that A 🙂

      Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    Ha, ha – doesn’t “Suit you sir”* 🙂 Those formal dress shops are a bit formidable, aren’t they?!

    The neat folding does appeal to me, however.

    Happy New Year, my friend.

    * The Fast Show

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      The neat folding appeals??? With this being my first contact with the Great Outside World this morning, I can see that 2017 is going to be something of a switchback, rocky and surprising ride. Am off to purchase a bicycle helmet momentarily, without said cycle, hoping as always for a bogof deal.

      Don’t know The Fast Show at all, but love “Suit you sir”. A very good 2017 to you too! A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Meanderer says:

        A bicycle?! Fair play to you sir. I have no sense of balance (which I discovered a couple of years ago when attempting to buy a second hand bike from a neighbour. Encouraged to try it for size in front of them I promptly rode into the kerb and almost fell flat on my face). I do, however, intend to get my head out of my nether regions this year and embrace the world (blimey, need a sit down after that 🙂 ).

        Like

  6. paula graham says:

    Ha, ha…lovely shot but I understand your kicking and baulking, and I do share also your dislike of garden centres…xxx Let’s leave these places to the initiated and spend time doing what we want to do!! All the best to you for now and always.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

