OUTLANDS 6 – BESIDE THE ROAD IN WEST LITTLETON 2

 

 

beside-the-road-in-west-littleton-2
.
I brought the my muddy little car to a halt in the village of West Littleton, in South Gloucestershire, with the lowering winter sun blazing down the road from behind me. 

Across the road, outside Home Farm, there was a tall wall with a tired public telephone box leaning back against it and blazing red in the harsh light.

I walked down the road to look at some interesting sheep and, looking back, was struck by the dazzling backlight pouring through the phone box’s grimy windows.

The main context for this first Outlands journey can be found here;  other images are  here, here, here and here.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 153mm (equiv); 200 ISO; 7 Dec 2016.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to OUTLANDS 6 – BESIDE THE ROAD IN WEST LITTLETON 2

  1. Meanderer says:

    A wonderful feeling of nostalgia is evoked here. Nice one, Adrian.

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    That would provide a great portal to an alternative universe, I’m thinking.

    Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    Am enjoying the dazzles pouring through the phone box… As much as I think I would have enjoyed the box in a bright pillarbox red, I don’t think I would have the enjoyed the dazzles quite so much. 😊

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Excellent, so from that I’m getting the feeling that I’ve got it right – very good to end the year on a high note then!!! Oodles of affection, or possibly affectation, are flying your way, which hopefully is forwards. See, I can be charming when I want to be! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Interesting, as always. I’m distracted by the tilt of the phone booth. I wonder what it would have looked like straightened out. Maybe that would be too boring. Oh no! Am I boring?!?!? Great stuff, bud. ❤ ATP ❤

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No you’re not at all boring, and normally I do try to get my verticals straight – but in this case the phone box really was leaning back against the high wall – this is reality!

      Leaving reality now, and bursting into song: “I’m a little teapot short and stout, tip me this way and the tea pours out!”. Ah, the old song are always the best!

      Should you want to empress your social circle with this Brit ditty – it could be an ice breaker at parties after all! – you perform it with your right hand on your hip (= the teapot’s handle), and your left arm crooked at the elbow and your left hand high (the spout), and you artfully incline your torso to the left as you sing it – sorry about the torso thing but I needed to be anatomically exact …. 😉 ……….. think you might try it ???????!!!!!!

      Glad you like the pic – thank you! And A VERY happy New Year to you!!!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sallyann says:

        Maybe, in view of your recent change in shape, you should try out a coffee pot stance now… A little less short and stout? 😀
        Although, I’m struggling to find a suitable rhyme to still make the ditty work.

        Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Yes, I have frequently attempted a shot at the back lit phonebox…not as easy as you might think. You made a good job of it!

    Like

  6. It’s a beautiful picture

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

