OUTLANDS 4 – BESIDE THE ROAD IN WEST LITTLETON

 

 

beside-the-road-in-west-littleton
.
Later on the same day (see context here),  I drove southwards into South Gloucestershire, and a side road – Rushmead Lane –  led me down into the little village of West Littleton.  Opposite Home Farm, several sheep were grazing on a little roped-off area of grass beside the road.  They looked at me, I looked at them.  And then I made very soft clicking and whispering noises and, their curiosity aroused, they came for a closer look.

Earlier images from this day can be found here and here.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window – recommended.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 800 ISO; 7 Dec 2016.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to OUTLANDS 4 – BESIDE THE ROAD IN WEST LITTLETON

  1. bighair63 says:

    Lovely – don’t you just want to hug her!

    Like

  2. It’s a beautiful sheep.
    I took sheep pictures with my new camera two days ago when I went at my brother’s home.
    I also took with mine when I came back at my home.

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful portrait, Adrian.

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    How nice , and interesting to see the quality and the depth of field in the photo. NICE

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! The X-T1 does well for things that are not moving or, at least, are not moving rapidly or frenetically, and I’m continually impressed with this image-stabilised 55-200 lens. And of course, being a smaller than full frame sensor (APS-C = Nikon’s DX format), the relative depths of focus are increased. So at 305mm this Fuji lens gives more depth of focus than my 300mm Nikkor – I often use the Nikkor at f8, but have read that 300mm APS-C lenses will provide the same DOF at f5.6; this pic was taken above that, at f7.1, and 1/200th. A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

