OUTLANDS 2 – FATman’s PHOTOGRAPHIC HELPER: TAKE YOUR PHOTOGRAPHY TO THE NEXT LEVEL!

 

 

fatmans-photographic-helper-take-your-photography-to-the-next-level
.
In the old days, when I was shooting mainly colour slides (remember them?), I always took a notebook and pen out with me, and spent a lot of time noting down where shots were taken, camera settings, etc.  Later, when I received the mounted slides back from the film processors, I would copy some of these details onto small labels to stick onto the slides’ plastic mounts.  Well, this was time-consuming, almost arduous – but then again it enables me, for example, to pinpoint places and dates for photos taken decades ago in Kenya, and I do value that.

However, these days cameras record all their shooting settings with each image they capture and I find this a great boon.  Later, I’m usually able to establish where shots were taken from my (increasingly pickled) memory, which is vastly helped by looking at grids of thumbnails of my shots, in Capture NX2 or Lightroom, that provide a visual record of my wanderings throughout the day.

But this latter method is of course more effective in places that I know, whereas this first trip up to the South Gloucestershire-Wiltshire border (see post here) was in country completely new to me.  I was much less certain that I’d be able to remember my whereabouts.

So, ever fertile, the FATman “mind” (I use the term guardedly) thought of shooting some kind of dividing shot at the end of each locality I visited – that last remaining brain cell was really going for it!  But whereas many would have simply put the lens cap back on and fired off two or three black frames, I went for the quicker option of simply placing my hand over the lens.

And here is the result, a worthy addition to any photographer’s expertise and library of techniques!  Actually, to be serious for a  moment, I’m surprised at just how much detail the camera’s sensor recorded – and between my fingers my car’s dashboard is rendered sharply (I was using an extreme wide angle lens).

But, anyway, if you’re out photographing and see another photographer shooting their hand, well at least you’ll know they read this blog too, and you might want to quietly approach them with “Can we discuss this … aren’t there better … things to read … in … Life … somewhere? ….

X-T1 with 10-24 Fujinon lens at 15mm (equiv); 400 ISO; my final shot along Rushmead Lane, north of Marshfield, South Gloucestershire; 7 Dec 2016.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

7 Responses to OUTLANDS 2 – FATman’s PHOTOGRAPHIC HELPER: TAKE YOUR PHOTOGRAPHY TO THE NEXT LEVEL!

  1. If I go to England, I will ask you to take me in picture

    Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    Slightly bizarre???? 🙂

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Great…slightly bizarre…looks like a cow’s milking machine!! Love it and I DO love your newish way of seeing things.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh, I’m often slightly bizarre. I mean, way to go, lady, way to go. ONLY way to go in fact. Only conformists conform, following the crowd around unthinkingly, wearing the same things, saying the same things, liking the same things. Anyone can do that.

      And I love the “cow’s milking machine” thing, gives me something to aim for. Aspirations, after all, are everything.

      I am trying, quite hard really, to be “newish”, maybe because I simply don’t want to go doing the same old thing. Some of what I do will take a nosedive, inevitably, and have its nose ground resolutely into the dust; but some might not, hopefully anyway. And I always value your thoughts. xxx

      Liked by 2 people

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

