BRISTOL 111 – TAKING FLIGHT

 

 

taking-flight
.
Another early bus ride into the city, another second breakfast at first light in Hart’s Bakery (context is here) – and as I lurched out of that warm, friendly and bustling establishment, the tints of sunrise were above and, looking up, I saw this.

The bird is a gull (aka seagull), and just about to leap off into the air to scavenge the city’s no doubt enticing refuse.  I have Hart’s, (s)he has Bristol.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 3200 ISO; beside Temple Meads railway station; 9 Dec 2016.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to BRISTOL 111 – TAKING FLIGHT

  1. Bird flights above chimneys, great picture

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    Another good flight of gull fancy! Mmmmm, second breakfast…

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    Perfect capture, Adrian.

    Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful image. I almost feel enthusiastic for an early morning bus ride 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well I’m used to getting up early, 6am would almost be late for me, so there’s not the toil of driving down to the Levels at such an early hour, tho I must admit to enjoying the sense of adventure at being out and about in the countryside so early. But with the bus I just bimble down to the end of the road and get transported – and of course sunrise is at its latest this time of year so that’s a big plus too. I’m losing enthusiasm for photographing the Levels, maybe I’ve “photographed myself out” down there, and the other day I ventured out to the Wilts-SGlos border, which brought quite different interests – watch this space! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. bluebrightly says:

    Nice! Silhouettes can be wonderful, esp. with that nicely colored sky.

    Like

  6. The morning sunlight has set this fabulous photo on fire. Great capture, bud. ❤️ATP❤️

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      ATP, thank you! >>> how are you getting on? Fired up by the thought of Christmas???!!! Well I know it means more to you than it does to me in one sense – not sure I’m fired up by it in any sense though but, well. you know, go with the flow … Take care! Have a good time! ATP XXXXXXXXX

      Like

  7. paula graham says:

    Wow..y’r on such a roll onto the ARTY path…Love it.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

