PEOPLE 239 – GOING TO WORK 7

 

 

going-to-work-7
.
Crossing Victoria Street in the morning rush hour; central Bristol, 11 Nov 2016.

And for a reason that I cannot pinpoint, when I look at this image I am reminded of Lennon & McCartney’s Eleanor Rigby.  Maybe I’m thinking of the fast and staccato sound of the hurrying footsteps, maybe I’m looking at the briefcase too, I don’t know:

Father McKenzie writing the words of a sermon that no one will hear

No one comes near

Look at him working, darning his socks in the night when there’s nobody there

What does he care?”

What am I on?  Anyway – where was I? – there is also a black and white version of this shot but, for the moment at least, the rising sun’s fires remain.

This is another and very different picture from the traffic island – you can see the first one here.

There are other images from this Going To Work series here, herehere, here, here and here.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 400 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to PEOPLE 239 – GOING TO WORK 7

  1. Meanderer says:

    Love it, Adrian: the gold colour, the stride, the briefcase in the middle as if it’s holding everything together. The shadow of the stride reminds me of the rocker on a rocking horse; he could be rocking to work!

    Having mentioned the Beatles, it reminds me of the Fab Four striding across the zebra crossing.

    Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    I like the inherent rhythm here, and it feels pretty positive to me, in spite of the suitcase – probably because of all that golden light. Great image – you pared it down to the essentials!

    Like

  3. Excellent photo ( it does bring the Beatles’ song to mind) and series

    Like

  4. All the lonely people…

    Cool capture, Eggman. Coocookachoo! 😁

    🎶🎶🎶❤️ ATP ❤️🎶🎶🎶

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh you naughty woman, don’t you get me going on that! …. too late!!! .. its too late, baby now, its too late!!! .. and no I’m not going to launch into a Carole King retrospective … much as I’d like to … but I’ve just GOT to … health warning … singing FATman … on the loooose!!!!!

      I am the eggman
      They are the eggmen
      I am the walrus
      Goo goo g’joob

      Yes, and all the lonely people too – and if I take their brollies out they won’t get a tan standing in the English rain …

      One thing that increasingly impresses itself upon me as I grow older disgracefully is just what genius Lennon and McCartney had – and its good to meet a fellow traveller! ATP xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. paula graham says:

    Yea, very good and has left plenty to the imagination.

    Like

  6. Sallyann says:

    I like this one… Not least of all because the song is now bouncing around in my brain, but I like the colour too, and the idea of the sun’s rising fires. 😊

    Like

  7. This shot is exactly: ‘Going to work’.. The focus is on the (symbolic) suitcase and the step, which lead to the shadow, which leads to the ‘there-is-more’-sunshine… The gold-monochrome contributes on behalf of the sunlight.. That’s at least what I make of it; well done. 😄🍻

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Harrie, you are getting deep here! >>> but its good to get deep, its good to think in new (for me) ways. But I rarely think in this way about images, I rarely make such interpretations >>> I more usually just look at an image and think “I like that!” >>> and if I do analyse it, the analysis is more often in terms of graphics and composition, rather than inner meaning – I guess I take a more simplistic approach >>> maybe the Duvel has pickled my faculties! 😀 A

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

