SOMERSET LEVELS 280 – TYRANNOSAUR

 

 

tyrannosaur
.
Tyrannosaur (and Glastonbury Tor too) on the Somerset Levels; 18 Nov 2016.

Leaving home before dawn, I drove down to the Somerset Levels through filthy weather.  Wind, rain and sleet battered the car.  There was snow on the Mendip Hills and, during the night, the Priddy Good Farm Shop, up on the top of these hills at Priddy, had had its debit card reader blown apart by a nearby lightning strike – “We’re only taking cash today!”.

I was actually birding, the aim of this visit to the Levels was look at birds, not to take photos at all.  But – and there’s always a “but”, isn’t there? – just in case, I took a rock-solid photographic standby, a Nikon DSLR and telezoom.

And, not long after sunrise, on Tadham Moor, “just in case” paid off.  I was pulled off the road watching winter thrushes – Fieldfares and Redwings, always beautiful, always great favourites of mine – when a small van pulled into a farm gate ahead of me and two men got out.  One I would guess was the local farmer, and he had brought the other to drive a tractor which had been parked there overnight.  There was rain about, it was windy, my car’s windscreen was nothing like clean – and all at once the sun broke through the overcast and threw the men and their vehicles into silhouette – and I dropped the binoculars, grabbed the Nikon, and started firing through the windscreen.

I have other shots but this image grabs me.  The farmhand started up the tractor, raised the vehicle’s front loader – and suddenly a Tyrannosaur rose up before me and opened its ravening jaws.

And so, man and dinosaur – and below the beast’s upstretched neck, a far off tower on a steep hill – Glastonbury Tor – an iconic feature of Somerset’s wet flatlands.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor lens at 250mm; 3200 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

25 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 280 – TYRANNOSAUR

  1. Sallyann says:

    Love your tractorsaurus… It reminds me of my transformer window cleaners…

    https://hallysann.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/transforming-window-cleaners/

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    Love it, Adrian! A wonderful serendipitous moment resulting in a fun silhouette!

    Like

  3. A very clever capture here and although you were in the “right place at the right time”, it took an artistic eye to visualise the end product. Well done

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much, your words are much appreciated. I see you’re in the southwest. I’m an ex-birder, still with a great love for birds. Adrian

      Like

      • Aaaah I will have to do my best to swing you back to the “Dark Side” so that you come back and rejoin the birding community 😀

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          WelI I am starting to go out more for birdwatching again – as when I took this picture, but I don’t want to get back into real birding/twitching again. But birds are always good to look at and have around. Google “A Bird Atlas of Kenya” and you will find me. Adrian

          Like

  4. bluebrightly says:

    I’m glad you had the camera, and the quick reaction – great photograph!

    Like

  5. Dinosaurs!!! Snow!!!! Ahhhhhh! How did you survive?!?!? What a fabulous (scary) photo, bud!! Stay safe!!
    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      How did I survive? Well, a car is a wonderful thing, always assuming it keeps going of course(!), and its a vast luxury to be sitting nice and dry inside while meteorological hell breaks loose outside – I certainly wouldn’t want to do that morning on a motorbike! ATP XXX

      Like

  6. paula graham says:

    Wonderful, love the framing and LOVE the framing of the Tor in the background. Well seen, my friend.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, my friend – fortuitous is the word, the right place at the right moment. These early morning jaunts are increasingly demanding, but they’re adventures too, and I value that. A

      Like

  7. My first association as well, Adrian 🙂

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

