ARCHIVE 259 – THE G11 AND ME (MONO)

 

 

img_2505awarmtonepaperx
.

The G11 and me, reflected in a shop window in Park Row, Bristol; 6 Apr 2013.

I’ve spoken quite a bit about the excellence of the G11 PowerShot and my opinion has never for a second wavered.  Two things make it so good.

First, it is small, rugged, handy and does the job. 

And two, it has a most outstandingly useful, fully articulated (ie vari-angle) LCD screen – I just can’t believe the usefulness of this screen, I’m deeply in love with it and I wonder how the hell I managed without it! 

We photographers are no strangers to seeing camera companies getting it wrong, and the omission of this screen from ensuing models is simply crazy – it simply defies belief. 

However, if you come across a G11 for sale (they’ll all be “pre-owned” by now) >>> do give it serious thought, and especially so if you’re at all into taking photos at inconvenient angles, or you like abstracts >>> or even if looking at yourself and taking self-portraits via the screen is your thing.  I can’t recommend this camera too highly.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 30.5mm (140mm equiv); 400 ISO; converted to mono and toned with Silver Efex Pro 2, starting from the Warm Tone Paper preset.

UPDATE: I don’t use the G11 so much these days – but I usually take it along on visits to pubs – there’s no getting away from the fact that, even though it is now so “out of date” in terms of digital camera technology,  it remains a compact and handy camera.  And, well, if it does the job, it does the job.  Why “upgrade” to a more highly specified camera, when I already have something that does the job???

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

13 Responses to ARCHIVE 259 – THE G11 AND ME (MONO)

  1. Cool selfie, bud. 👍🏼
    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    Ah, my nostalgic friend, the attachment we develop to these mechanical companions that we have taken into our hearts! I wish I could clone myself and direct another version or two of me to continue to work with my (our) favorite cameras of the past (Olympus Pen-D, Pentax Spotmatic, YashicaMat 124-G, Pentax PZ-1), develop the film, and spend hours upon hours in the darkroom trying to do what we can now do in a matter of minutes. But we must evolve!

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Yes, quite…there comes a time when you already got what you think you still want!! Good post , my friend. By the way..when you are near…do ring/mail me and drop by (if you want!!)

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, it would be good to meet up again. I’m rarely in Devon, except occasionally en route elsewhere, and then its a question of “making the miles”, of getting there, rather than stopping off en route. Maybe I’m getting lazy, maybe age has something to do with it too, but I do few “long” car trips now.

      But what about meeting for a long lunch again, I very much enjoyed our chat. A 🙂

      Like

  4. My first ‘digi’ was a Canon G5. One of the best compacts in those days. While flat in the dirt for a low p.o.v. shot with the D700, I often missed that aticilated screen of the G5. Good shots as well, but it was awful in low light. Cheers, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      The G11 goes up to 3200 ISO, the quality is not great, but I tend to bother less about quality and more about what I’m shooting – if there’s grain, artefacts etc, then that’s how it is. Do you still use the D700? I still use mine – wonderful camera! – and I use a D800 too. A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

