BIRDS 88 – GULL YAWNING

 

 

gull-yawning
.
Gull yawning; St Ives, Cornwall; 20 Oct 2016.

This is most probably a Herring Gull.  The brown speckling on its plumage shows it to be a young bird, probably now just about to enter its first winter – it hatched from its egg this summer.

It was perched on the wall of the West Pier at St Ives, “loafing” as birdwatchers say.  Which means that it had had some food, that it wasn’t desperately hungry, so that it was just hanging around – while still no doubt keeping an eye out for any chance meal that might present itself.

I leant against the wall and, very gradually, inched my way towards it, keeping silent, compact and low.  It shuffled a little, it wasn’t quite sure about me (sensible bird!), but then it relaxed, and I started gradually capturing images.  I could have wished that the D800’s shutter was quieter but, on the plus side, its reliable autofocus did its usual excellent job, and I was able to concentrate on the images, rather than on whether they were sharp or not.

There are earlier images from this recent gull series here and here.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor lens at 300mm; 400 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to BIRDS 88 – GULL YAWNING

  1. That’s quite a yawp. Good of you to have caught the expression.

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    I don’t find it at all creepy, personally, but wow, for sure a sardine’s worst nightmare!

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Somehow creepy!! Good photo

    Like

  4. Woooh, it’s a beautiful bird

    Like

  5. You’ll have to tell me how one gets to look compact. I’m getting so far away from that! Ugh and damn those bagels with cream cheese!
    Great capture, bud. ❤️
    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well you’ve always looked compact to me, but then you’re ATP … 😉 … If its any consolation to you, I’ve found that losing more weight is becoming increasingly difficult, a real grind in fact, and so I’m concentrating now and keep my weight (more or less) down. Cheese, since it has lots of fat, is one thing I’m (more or less!) keeping away from, whereas beer is one thing I’m staying right with … 😉 … and then there are the 5 mile walks, which can be a slog, but which are good for what I, ATP, laughingly call my mind. Do you exercise? Anything will help. I’m glad you like the image, thank you. Are you set to relocate any time soon? ATP xxxXXXXXXXX!!!

      Like

      • Giving up cheese? I know from experience that cheese consumption is an enemy of weight loss but OMG that’s so hard to give up. What little beer I drink isn’t affecting me any. It’s the late night snacks and the fact that I fill my plate to the brim at dinner. It’s too hard!!!! Ohhhhhh! And exercise, these days I’d rather poke a stick in my eye, so you see it’s hopeless. I’m in a stress funk and I can’t find the door. No the house is back on the market after a brief hiatus because of switching realtors. Open house to the public today. Cross your fingers and toes, bud!
        XXX ATP XXX

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Filling your plate to the brim? Way to go, lady, way to go! Or, at least, to stagger … or should that be … waddle …??? 😉 But … but … I am extremely sad to hear that you’re in a bad way, what with all this stress, and the house problem, which no doubt contributes loads to your malaise. I am very sad to hear all this. You’re very much in my thoughts, Gem, I hope things improve for you both. One thing I’ve found is that going for walks not only consumes the calories but is also mentally very relaxing too, you could try it, you know. Well, just a thought. Anyway, I wish you luck with today – and just you take care of yourself. ATP xxx

          Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

