PEOPLE 233 – READING A NEWSPAPER 1

 

 

reading-a-newspaper-1
.
Turning the page of a newspaper in a Bristol pub, with a half pint of bubbling shandy standing ready to hand; 2 Sept 2016.

I don’t use this little Canon camera much these days but, with its fully articulated screen and highly accessible controls, its very handy in changing and close-in situations, and it shoots Raw. 

It usually accompanies me on visits to pubs, its very good to have to hand – just in case.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 83mm (equiv); 1600 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

7 Responses to PEOPLE 233 – READING A NEWSPAPER 1

  1. paula graham says:

    Yea, a little camera you can love as much as your monster Nikon is hard to find. This is not forbidden fruit!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No, you won’t get Forbidden Fruit in there – its shandy which, to me, is forbidden too, for other reasons … Speaking of which, I’ve just received another delivery of Belgians from Beers of Europe, so this is going to be a delicious weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Meanderer says:

    Ooh – just saw this pop up in my reader and it really caught my eye. What a lovely image. First of all – I love the blue colours the person is wearing – don’t they complement the amber colour of the drink?! Also it makes me feel warm and cosy – of sitting in a pub in the daytime amidst others all there for the purpose of a nice convivial drink and a tasty bite – or, as here, a relaxing look at the paper.

    We often frequent Wetherspoons whenever in town (I know, I know – Wetherspoons is a bit like Marmite: people love it or hate it) but they offer lots of veggie options at very reasonable prices. Our local one is a large pub with snugs juxtaposed with more sociable areas. I love the characters one sees in there. I remember a couple of Christmas’s ago – after a heavy day of shopping, we went in for a bite and drink and sat in one of the snugs which had, I think, three tables. Shortly a couple of old boys and a younger chap – a son, I think, sat near us, giving a running commentary on what was in the newspapers – making us chuckle. They struck up a conversation and eventually began running some songs past us. I clearly remember the song directed to me: ‘Baby Face’. I’ve never been redder (well I probably have) 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well, M, you’ve probably won the prize for longest ever comment on this blog – wonderful stuff! And the prize is a night out with me, and second prize is two nights out with me …

      Glad you like the pic – thanks! Yes, sitting in pubs in the daytime is a rather pleasant activity – but we have been thwarted by the fact that two pubs near us have closed down their breakfast + booze mornings – does no one have any sense of style any more? – and so if I fancy an early morning tipple it is indeed Wetherspoons down in the city, but I’m not a huge fan, not least because two of my stepkids work (elsewhere) for the chain, and because I don’t rate their food that highly. Still, any port in a storm …

      As it is, I’m planning an early more foray into the city tomorrow – the Fuji will do 51,000 ISO and I’m going to try it out, tho I have a feeling the Nikons will be rather better in the gloaming – and there’s a wonderful (non-chain) café that does hot bacon sandwiches, and then after that there’s a French bakery – my knees have suddenly gone all unnecessary …

      Snugs sound good, they sound just my thing. Baby Face, eh? What a revelation! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

