STILL LIFE 67 – GANGPLANK

 

 

gangplank
.
Safety ropes on the gangplank of a floating restaurant; Bristol Bridge, central Bristol; 16 Sept 2016.

These undulating ropes, set against the shadow of the ship’s side, were eye-catching.  I tried taking the image into black and white and then restoring the ropes’ colours, but actually a straight colour version does rather better. 

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 6400 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

13 Responses to STILL LIFE 67 – GANGPLANK

  1. Meanderer says:

    That’s great, Adrian – so vivid I can almost touch the ropes. The colour version was definitely the right choice.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Our, c’est ca. J’espere que ta Dimanche serait (meaning, I hope!, “will be”!!!) bon. A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bonjour Adrian, mon dimanche sera bon. J’espère que ton dimanche sera bon. You make efforts to write French better and it’s not so easy for an English speaker. I won’t claim my English is excellent.
        Have a nice Sunday.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Well, actually, I have always liked French and, especially, I love hearing it spoken by native French speakers, I think it sounds very beautiful. I enjoy trying to put my words to you into French, it is a challenge and I enjoy doing it.

          I learnt French in primary school from the age of 7 to 11; then, at 11, I went to secondary school and learnt French all over again, up to the age of 16. And then I have travelled in France from time to time, and spent several months working on geology in the Alps, near Briancon – so my French came in very useful – as it did when I visited Rwanda, in Africa, which I think used to be a French or Belgian colony.

          You English is GOOD – hahaha! >>> far better than my French!!! It is a great pleasure to talk to you. 😀

          Liked by 1 person

  2. paula graham says:

    Health and Safety…ha, ha…makes a good shot anyway.

    Like

  3. I like the ‘flow’, a fine weekend, Adrian.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

