ARCHIVE 254 – SELFIE ON A BRIDGE

 

 

adl86x
.
Selfie on a footbridge, Lynmouth, Devon; 24 Sept 2009.

The striking shadow and backdrop were too good to miss, and I angled the camera so that, instead of being horizontal, the footbridge’s shadow cuts a powerful, stark diagonal right across the photo, more or less from top left to bottom right. The background, a dry overspill channel, is quite rugged and textured, and also variously green – this shot also works in black and white.

Click onto the image to open a (slightly) larger version in a separate window.

F6 with 24-120 Nikkor lens; Fuji Provia 400X colour slide rated at 800 ISO.

UPDATE: its almost unreal to see that this photo was originally taken as a colour slide/transparency – taken on 35mm FILM!!!   And I was having the film push processed, which means that although the film was rated at 400 ISO, I asked the company who were going to develop it to treat it as if it had a speed of 800 ISO.  The firm were (and still are, I think) based in Cheltenham in the UK, and sending the exposed film to them – and receiving back the developed colour slides in a neat plastic box – all took place via the UK postal system. 

Provia 400X was a wonderful film, excellent colours, fine grain, and I had no hesitation in having it push processed up to 3200 ISO or even higher on occasion.  Had digital photography not come onto the scene, I would certainly still be using 400X (or its descendants) now.

And film?  Well its only 7 years since this photo was taken, but all that seems such a long time ago.  Would I ever go back to using film?  Definitely not, absolutely certainly not.  The creative advantages provided by digital photography simply cannot be ignored.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to ARCHIVE 254 – SELFIE ON A BRIDGE

  1. Meanderer says:

    I remember this one from before but I recall a mono version. I love this one – the colours are wonderful!

    Like

  2. A silhouette selfie. Outstanding! Love the tilt too, toots. 😉
    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    I’m sure I took something similar on a bridge in Derby a few weeks ago… If I find another similar photo spot… Next time I’ll wave. 😊

    Like

  4. bluebrightly says:

    All true, but sometimes there is still something about the colors of film, even with all the processing filters that mimic it.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I do know what you mean, Lynn, and I’ve read recently about a landscape professional who still only uses Velvia film for his work – he said that while the colours may not be 100% accurate, they are eminently repeatable, and that’s what matters for him. Interesting point too, perhaps – most or all of the picture’s on this blog’s front page started out as film photos, I’ve never got around to using digital shots. Of course these colour slides all had to be digitally scanned to get them onto this blog, and inevitably I will have adjusted them, but they are mostly film photos. A

      Like

  5. krikitarts says:

    Definitely different (and decidedly dizzying)!

    Like

  6. paula graham says:

    Well…if nothing else…different!! I like it.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hahaha! >>> but I wonder if “different” = good/worthwhile??? Whatever is the answer to that, I simply cannot find it within myself to “keep churning out the same (old) thing”, I like to keep trying new things – with varying degrees of success! 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

